Testimonials and Reviews

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS -  - Orthopedic Spine Surgeon

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS

Orthopedic Spine Surgeon & Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine Specialist located in Marina Del Rey, CA

22 total reviews

Dr. Hooman Melamed always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 22 reviews with an average rating of 4.95 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Hooman Melamed below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Melamed through my job as I rep for a communication software for doctors. I see doctors on a daily basis and Dr Melamed is by far The most gracious doctor I have so far met …… a class act! My husband is a dentist, and dentists tend to experience back, neck and shoulder issues due to the nature of their jobs. So I brought up my husband’s back issues to Dr. Melamed’s attention and asked him if there would be a possibility for him to review my husband’s MRI for a second opinion and without any hesitation he agreed. As the matter of fact his schedule was super busy two weeks out but he was kind enough to meet with me during his lunch hour to review the MRI. NOT many doctors will do this for you ….which made me realize that he is absolutely passionate about his job and genuinely cares for his patients. He reviewed the MRI with me and explained in detail my husband’s issues and the reason for his symptoms. He also mentioned that my husband’s back issues could be resolved if proper care was implemented in his current lifestyle and that surgery would not be an option at this time. Clearly Dr. Melamed is conservative in diagnosing and not about the money …. Which is extremely heartwarming as many providers don’t share the same philosophy. Now I know why he is called The “Spinepro” … and been on tv and different publications. As the matter of fact I learned that he has done over 4500 surgeries. I would absolutely recommend Dr. Melamed to anyone with back/spine issues as I believe they would be in competent but yet humble hands. He is THE Spinepro!!!!
05/08/17
Being a registered nurse I made sure to find the best surgeon to perform my emergent cervical spinal posterior discectomy and foraminotomy. I was injured September 8, 2007 lifting a patient and herniated discs C4-C7. I kept away from surgery because I was afraid. I made it exactly 9 ½ years and 2 days without surgery. My C7 disc ruptured from overuse (lifting and turning patients). I woke up on a Saturday to left trapezius and shoulder pain that progressed to numbness and tingling down my left arm to fingers and weakness by the following Thursday. I went to my primary doctor Monday 2 days after symptoms and he ordered a MRI. I had the MRI the following Tuesday and contacted Dr. Melamed. I saw him that afternoon with a CD of my MRI results. My first consult was with Dr. Melamed; he explained the procedure in detail along with expected recovery time. I appreciated his kind approach, and he treated me with the utmost respect. Dr. Melamed explained both the anterior and posterior approaches. From my MRI results Dr. Melamed explained that I was a candidate for the posterior approach, which fit my expectations of quicker recovery, and no range of motion loss. Being young, active, and a registered nurse this was a major factor in my decision to choose the posterior approach. My second opinion was with a neurosurgeon at UCLA who stated I needed to have the ACDF (anterior cervical discectomy and fusion). I inquired on the posterior approach and was told that this is a newer procedure without enough evidence to prove it works. I kept pushing the posterior approach and was told it was not an option. I then stated that I had already had an opinion and the surgeon in fact said I qualified for the posterior approach. This surgeon was at a loss for words. My third opinion was via email with my husband’s colleague from medical school who is out of state. I sent photos from my MRI and inquired on what procedure I would need. His response was that I did in fact qualify for the posterior approach and both surgeries have good outcomes. It all depended on what results I was looking for as the range of motion could be lessened with the ACDF approach. He stated the posterior was an excellent option. I went back to Dr. Melamed to discuss the surgery in detail with my husband who is a physician. We all agreed the posterior approach was the best for me. I cannot explain to you how patient and detailed Dr. Melamed is. To make time to discuss the surgery with my husband meant the world to me. I scheduled surgery for that Friday. My surgery was performed at DISC in Marina Del Rey. The surgery went perfectly and the staff was amazing. My 1-week follow-up visit with Dr. Melamed’s physician assistant Holley was great. My wound was healing without any issues. It was a rough recovery. By week 5 I felt amazingly better and could lift up to 10#. The pain was completely gone by week 6 when I saw Dr. Melamed for follow-up. I had regained 90% of my strength and was cleared to start physical therapy (PT) and lift up to 15#. I started PT and was cleared to start lifting 25#. To sum up my review don’t trust your spine to anyone. Trust Dr. Hooman Melamed with your spine. If you can trust anyone’s review it should be mine. I am a seasoned registered nurse that has worked with many, many physicians and I know an amazing physician when I meet them. You will get the best care from Dr. Melamed and his PA Holley. They answer voicemails, text messages and emails promptly. I never had to sit and wait for a response. If you want to have this surgery by Dr. Melamed and would like to speak with me please let him know and he will set us up to speak. I want everyone to have all of the information they need and I believe that having a patient’s perspective that went through the procedure is important in knowing what to expect and answering any questions from a patient standpoint. Thank you Dr. Melamed for everything.
05/01/17
Amazing!!! Dr. Melamed is truly an outstanding Doctor. From the first minute in his office he made me feel at ease and excited about the possibility of finally being pain free. He diagnosed me with spondylolisthesis and I had an Ant/Post Fusion with Micro Decompression. Just 5 months post op I was cleared for all activity and haven't had pain since week 3. The surgery recovery (about 3 weeks) was not easy, but well worth it!!! Thanks Dr. Melamed!!! I am one year post surgery and feeling fantastic! No pain and I'm back to doing all the things I couldn't do before, working out, working on car and doing yard work. So thankful to have come to see Dr. Melamed. Also: Six weeks ago My 75 year old mother had the exact same surgery I had. Prior to surgery she was in constant pain and her right leg was so weak she needed a walker to get around. Six weeks post surgery she feels great, is pain free and hasn't needed pain meds since week two. She's walking on her own and her leg strength is almost back to normal. Dr. Melamed is a true miracle worker, we're forever grateful to him and his fabulous staff. Everyone is so friendly and eager to help. Thanks so much Dr. Melamed!
04/01/17
Everyone in Dr. Melamed's office, from the first consult to the last post-surgery follow up, has been wonderful. The first time I called for a consult, I got an appointment for the next day. MRI and x-rays are done in the office as an added convenience. My surgery was scheduled at my convenience and was performed in the DISC surgery center. Everything was so clean and everyone was so caring. I was walking the same day, home in 2 days, and am now pain free. I was very careful about getting my surgery; I wanted only the best because there are no do-overs with spinal surgery and Dr. Melamed and his entire staff are the best.
03/30/17
If you are living with pain and discomfort and feel as if you have no way out - I can honestly say, Dr. Melamed is your answer. After many years of suffering with back pain, neck pain and eventually numbness in my right arm, I started to experience weakness in my arm as well. I Immediately went to see Dr. Melamed. After discussing my situation, reviewing my X-Rays and MRI results, he was able to pin point what might be causing the weakness. He requested a CT Scan on the spot, and was able to diagnose me make me feel at ease with next steps. He recommended I have microdiscectomy and microdecompression surgery ASAP. The fact that I was able to get Xrays, my MRI and CT Scan at the same location made it that much easier and stress free. I was diagnosed the same day - and was having surgery 2 days later - again, at the same location! PLUS PLUS PLUS!! After under 6 weeks, I am PAIN FREE, and have almost 100% of my strength back in my arm. After feeling so helpless and fearing the worst, I am now elated at my results and look forward to getting back to my active lifestyle, and doing things with my daughter and husband that I was not able to do prior to the surgery. Dr. Melamed is our angel, and I am eternally grateful for all he and everyone at DISC Sports & Spine Center have done for me and my family.
03/26/17
Dr. Melamed is by far the best in his field what a great man I can finally walk without pain he really cares about his patients and explains the procedures in detail I always felt that I was in good hands thank you Dr. Melamed and you too Holly!!!!!!!
03/20/17
My experience has been miraculous. Going from suffering pain, lack of balance, inability to stand for more than 10 minutes, not be able to play any sport. Never knowing each day how my back will feel. Having gone through two previous surgeries and living like this for more than twenty-five years. Here I am, six weeks after Dr Melamed had done my surgery feeling wonderful. His whole staff has been great, especially Holly Spears. Also my recovery has been easy, after ten hours of surgery, I was off of pain medication in two days except for Tylenol. I went home six days after the surgery. By the way, I am eighty years old.
02/23/17
This was the first experience that I have ever had with a major surgery or issue. Dr Melamed and his staff were amazing and took great care in my overall treatment. I work in public service and can appreciate the thoroughness and exacting care that Dr. Melamed and his staff provided me. I have referred a number of friends and co-workers to his office due not only to the standard of care that he provides; but his level of expertise. Thanks again, Brent Crafton
02/21/17
everyone was very knowledgeable, fast with the info, service was excellent, excellent recovery time,
02/16/17
My experience with Dr. Melamed has been GREAT !!! Despite my original fears and concerns about needing back surgery, Dr. Melamed was very patient with me answering my many questions as often as i asked them, he explained my procedure as many times as i needed. Dr. Melamed helped me understand every aspect of my surgery Until it was clear to me. Dr. Melamed calmed my fears, He earned my TRUST !!! to make one of the most important decisions of my Life !! During and after my surgery Dr. Melamed and his staff have always been there for Me !! Making my Experience and My back surgery A SUCCESS !!!
02/13/17
I had a spinal fusion 8 years ago of L-3 & 4 and was okay with the results. After lifting a heavy object, my back went out again. I tried PT and pain management with no relief. For the past 6 years I've been in agonizing pain -- unable to walk my dog, stand in line or do dishes without pain and hunching over. While watching The Doctors, TV show, I was amazed at the results of a surgery Dr. Melamed had performed on a women in far worse shape than me. Six months later, I called and made an appointment. I'm 6 weeks out of surgery and can stand tall and walk without any pain! I can only praise Dr. Melamed, his staff and the staff at Marina del Rey Hospital. What wonderful, kind and professional people!
02/13/17
Dr. Melamed and his staff literally SAVED my life! The pain that stemmed from my Cervical Spine was so severe due to damaged and deteriorated discs that it caused a constant burning sensation down the right side of my neck, shoulder, arm and into my hand. I was unable take care of my daily needs and I could not sleep. Now, six weeks post surgery, I feel like a new person and words cannot begin to express my appreciation for the surgical talents of Dr. Melamed and care from his entire medical team.
02/09/17
My experience with DISC and Dr. Melamed changed my life. I have never had doctors and nurses listen to me and take my comfort and concerns into account in this way. I felt as though every ounce of my motivation to be better was matched with enthusiasm to help improve my quality of life. I would encourage every individual in search of a caring surgery and consultation environment and drastic results to reach out to Dr. Melamed.
02/07/17
you can put this quote without using my name (for legal reasons which he understands....) It took me a while.... Please forgive me. "Dr. Melamed saved my life. He is the most brilliant surgeon!!!"
02/03/17
It took me a while.... Please forgive me. if you could post it with Marcia R. so my lawyers don't kill me. If you can't I'll risk it, because I was very badly the radiology department only twenty or so days after the surgery. But the truth is the truth. "Dr. Melamed saved my life. He is the most brilliant surgeon!!!"
02/03/17
It was an absolutely fantastic experience from terrible pain to almost no pain from the surgery, Dec. 20, 2016 to today Feb. 2, 2017. I would definitely recommend him to anyone with back pain. If this helps, Dr. Melamed did radiculopathy surgery on me. I believe that if I ever have any more back or bone problems I would definitely come to DISC Sports and Spine Center. My son, his working partner, my nephew, and two more of my sons friends have had surgery here.
02/02/17
My experience with Dr. Melamed was fantastic not only was I treated like family but the pain that I had in my back is completely gone. Dr. Melamed and his staff are true professionals at what they do and make you feel right at home with no question unanswered. I'm very glad I decided to have my operation with Dr. Melamed it has changed my life forever. I highly recommend any looking to get surgery done do some research on Dr. Melamed you will be very impressed.
01/30/17
Dr. Melamed saved my life! He and his team are miracle workers! I met Dr. Melamed in the ER of the Marina del Rey hospital in the worst pain of my life. Dr. Melamed took action right away and had me come in for an MRI and found I had a very large ruptured disc in my lower back. He and his staff worked with my doctors to get me into emergency surgery. All the staff and doctors were EXCELLENT and I was given top notch care. I am now walking, laughing, and pain-free 6 weeks later. I highly recommend Dr. Melamed at D.I.S.C.
01/26/17
Dr Melamed is amazing. I had a previous cervical spine surgery by another Doctor and it was a disaster. Dr Melamed took me on as a patient and did a second surgery and fixed all my issues. After 1 year I am completely healed and pain free. I had been suffering for over a year. Thanks To Dr Melamed and his staff I am very grateful and happy to finally be pain free.
01/24/17
I can't speak highly enough of Dr Melamed. After being to several other spine surgeons, I can say he genuinely cares about his patients. He took the time to explain every aspect of my condition in terms I would understand, offered a minimally invasive alternative, explained the risks of not having the procedure vs having it. I can't thank him enough for taking the time to go through every aspect of my condition as well as the options. I came in with a lot of fear and uncertainty, and he was able to assuage my concerns. I can't speak highly enough of him and his team.
01/24/17
Ask us

Feel free to email us regarding any scheduling or general questions!

Name
Email Address
Comments
Follow Us
Hours

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS
13160 Mindanao Way
Ste 300
Marina Del Rey, CA 90292