Testimonials and Reviews

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS -  - Orthopedic Spine Surgeon

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS

Orthopedic Spine Surgeon & Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine Specialist located in Marina Del Rey, CA

43 total reviews

Dr. Hooman Melamed always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 43 reviews with an average rating of 4.98 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Hooman Melamed below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Dr. Melamed is an exceptional surgeon! He truly cares about his patients and guides them honestly. He saved my mother’s life and we are forever grateful! Thank you!
Julie D.
04/24/18
dr. melamed is an expert in his field. flying 5 years later from lumbar l1-l5 with rods adjusted scoliosis. he is amazing and a godsend for my career as a flight attendant. thank you doctor melamed, sincerely suze groth ual f/a
Suze G.
04/18/18
When I found I had to undergo cervical surgery I did a lot of research which led me to Dr. Melamed. He did a great job and the results and recovery time were much better than I expected, even though I am 66 years old and was experiencing loss of balance and nerve damage. The pain and balance loss are gone and the nerve damage is improving with physical therapy, thanks to Dr. Melamed.
Hobart C.
04/04/18
I had been experiencing pain for almost a year. It started in my back and a few weeks later began moving down my right leg. Before long it radiated all the way to my foot. I went to my doctor a few months in and was told it was sciatica and should resolve itself. I had an x-ray and it showed nothing. After trying physical therapy, yoga restoration therapy (targeted specifically for the back and sciatica) I was still in so much pain it was hard to walk and get in and out of my car. I went back to the doctor and he ordered an MRI and gave me 2 injections. One a steroid and the other for pain. (helped for about 24 hours) The MRI results revealed that I had a large posterior disc protrusion measuring at 8mm at my L5-S1. After being sent for an epidural and more therapy, the pain was still getting worse. Everyone wanted to prescribe narcotic cocktails to help me live with this pain. Unfortunately, they make me Non-functional, and I am not able to take these medications and work full time so that was a dead end. Finally, I was sent to a pain doctor who told me I could try the epidural again or a nerve block. Again, a temporary solution. Then she told me I may want to consider surgery and told me about Dr. Melamed. I called to make an appointment but he was out of the country so it was a little while before I could get in. I only point this out because I saw 2 other surgeons in the meantime. Neither of which gave me the answers I was looking for. More shots, pain meds, epidurals, fusing my back, months and months of recovery. When I met with Dr. Melamed, what he told me sounded to good to be true, but he spent so much time with us explaining everything and making sure I understood. The comfort level my husband and I felt had us scheduling my surgery at the end of the appointment. I had a Right lumbar 5-sacral 1 microdiscectomy with iliac crest bone marrow aspirate and intradiscal stem cell injection. Here I am today, almost 2 weeks post-op with NO pain. I had my surgery at Marina Del Rey Hospital and what an incredible experience. Everyone, Nurses, Doctors and the Entire Staff were So professional, accommodating and genuinely kind. I do not have one negative thing to say, only Praise. One thing that was really amazing was that everyone that saw me while I was being prepared for surgery asked who was doing my procedure. When I told them it was Dr. Melamed, everyone of them said, "He is Brilliant!" Even my Anesthesiologist told me that Dr. Melamed had done surgery on him. Needless to say, this put me at tremendous ease. As I mentioned, I am almost 2 weeks post-op and have had No Pain in my back or leg since I woke up after surgery. Dr. Melamed let me know, before surgery, that he has started a method with narcotic/opiate free post-op meds. I would like to add myself to the success of this method. Though my surgery was minor compared to his more complicated cases, it is not without some post-op pain. I am thrilled to say that there has Never been a point in my recovery that my pain has not been under control. I am grateful to have been fortunate enough to be a part of this "new approach". I would like to thank everyone associated with The Sports and Spine Center (D.I.S.C.) and Marina Del Rey Hospital for taking an unfortunate and painful situation and turning it into an Incredible Experience.
Elizabeth R.
03/26/18
Dr. Melamed saved my life as well. After reviewing my X-rays and MRI, I had 100% confidence in his recommendations. My spinal cord became compressed and I was walking with an abnormal gait. It felt like I was slowly becoming crippled. Dr. Melamed and his outstanding team performed a 9 hour cervical spine procedure and two weeks later a 6 hour lumbar procedure. Recovery can be hard as was mine. Immediately after surgery I was walking with a normal gait. I’m back to weight lifting and hiking again. I went from spiraling in depression to feeling great. Also, thank you to all the medical professionals at Marina Del Rey Hospital and D.I.S.C.
Nader S.
03/24/18
I have suffered with chronic back pain for over 15 years. I have endured more epidural injections than anyone should, physical therapy, hospital visits and way more pain medications than is deemed safe. I had only managed to mask the pain and eventually I couldn’t even do that any more. Through it all I had to maintain a highly physical business. Living with pain was so depressing, debilitating, and at times, hopeless to the point that I felt I didn’t want to live at all. Meeting Dr. Melamed was a life-changing event for me, a miracle. He made me feel calm and that he understood my pain and most importantly, I believed that I could trust him to take care of my spine and my life. I also believed that for the first time in years I would be out of pain after the procedure and recovery. Dr. Melamed and his attentive staff spent countless hours going through every detail of the surgery, post-surgery and rehabilitation with me in-person, via email and on the phone. They answered every question I had no matter how small and they handled all the insurance details too. I worked with them on all the details so that nothing was left to chance. Everything worked out with exceptional planned precision. I was in for a huge surgery which would take over 8 hours. There was going to be a big recovery time and every part of the plan needed to be in place from the beginning. The surgery was on May 17, 2017 and was a complete success! The procedure went exactly as planned. All the doctors, nurses and staff at The Marina Del Rey Hospital were exceptional, professional and kind. My stay in re-hab at The California Re-Habilitation Institute was practical, informative and top-notch in instruction and care. Dr. Hooman Melamed is a brilliant, kind and caring surgeon. He has really given my life back to me and I couldn’t be more grateful. After four months of recovery I resumed working again and have taken up Pilates in order to stay strong and flexible. My surgery was 9 months ago and It is astounding that I do not have any back pain as long as I am maintaining my stretching and strength training. I cannot say enough about Dr. Melamed, my fabulous doctor! Truly for me he has been a life-saver and life-changer. He has cared about my total health and well-being, not just the financial gain. I am and always will be eternally grateful to him. I would recommend him to anyone seeking treatment for spine issues and I will not hesitate to call on him again if I should ever need additional consultation or surgery. For those of you that want to know what my surgery actually was, here it is in medical terms: The surgery was done in 3 parts: Part 1: Anterior Lumbars Interbody Fusion on L4-L5 with Instrumentation and Allo/Autograft & Bone Morphogenetic Protein Part 2: Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion using Lateral Approach on L3-L4 with Instrumentation & Allo/Autograft & Bone Morphogenetic Protein Part 3: Posterior Spinal Fusion on L3-L4, L4-L5 with Instramentation & L3-L4, L4-L5 Posterior Microdecompression
Ali I.
02/21/18
I cannot find words to describe this precious surgeon and staff and the surgery that I experienced in my life. He is the best and I recommended him and will continue to recommend his honesty and surgery on by spine. I am free of pain and look like a new born and enjoying my life steps . 4 months after the surgery I am unlimited member of Pilates and can move easily , no pain, and enjoying my rest of life with this fabulous surgeon hands and recommendations foe healthy life style.
Melineh K.
02/17/18
I had severe back problem after even second surgery in minnesota. Back was really bad and painful that I did not had life for 23+ years. I had seen many many doctors in minnesota including Mayo Clinic in Rochester. But no doctors wanted to touch my back. When I saw Dr. Melamed on The Doctors show , I wrote him a letter , and he decided to help me. Order many test etc. on 2-08-16 I had my spine surgery by Dr Melamed in L.A. Dr Melamed took a Hugh big challenge. Dr Melamed and his staff are very very kind and helpful . Also they made sure that I am ok since I was from other state. My stay in L.A. Was unbeliable. I took my first trip last week to Vegas and I did not have any pain in my back. That is a Hugh for me. Dr Melamed is spine surgeon of the universe. I wish I would have seen him 20-25 years ago. I would have been able to work. Dr Melamed had changed my life for good . What else 71 year old women wants. I am happy
Daksha P.
02/09/18
I can’t say enough good things about Dr Melamed I have multiple friends who have been operated on by Dr Melamed and they have all been very happy with the outcome but the real mark of what an incredibly patient centric approach Dr Melamed takes is the fact that even though I was very willing to have an extensive surgery with him he advised I work extensively with a physio instead and now I am doing immeasurably better. Patient, kind and professional... and a genuinely nice guy to boot!
Henry M.
12/29/17
Dr. Melamed is very professional, kind and a terrific doctor! He truly cares about helping me with my pain. Dr Melamed has helped me overcome my neck and back problems. I trust him fully! The staff is very kind and professional as well. Thank you Dr Melamed for all your help!
Gila A.
12/28/17
I had back pain for a year and 8 months. I was feeling miserable, physical therapy made me better but my back pain came back again and again and apparently I had gotten worse. I couldn’t even sleep during night. I tried chiropractors, physical therapy and even spinal decompression. I was in tremendous amounts of pain, could barely walk and was waking up every few hours throughout the night, not knowing what to do. After meeting with Dr. Melamed, he took his time to go over my x-rays and explained everything in great detail and patiently to me and my family. I decided to do surgery, even though I was scared from horror stories I had been told. I cannot express how happy I am with my result from my surgery. My back pain is nearly gone. I am about to begin my physical therapy to help me in my final step of recovery. I cannot thank him and his staff enough for everything. Dr. Melamed is the angle who saved my life. I just wish I had met him sooner. I cannot believe he even took time to personally check up on me multiple times though out my recovery. Thank you for giving me my life back after everything that I have been through!
Mona Y.
12/22/17
Dr Melamed’s services are top notch. He is an expert in his field using minimally invasive techniques for optimal results and expedient recovery. He is a compassionate and dedicated doctor. I highly recommend Dr. Melamed for any spinal surgery.
Wendy D.
12/19/17
Dr Melamed is a fantastic Surgen my back is pretty bad from arthritis and he has changed my life in so many ways he really cares for his patients THANK YOU DR MELAMED!!!!!!
Dan N.
12/10/17
4 reviews 5.0 star rating 11/30/2017 I can't thank Dr. Melamed enough. There was a moment about two months ago from now where I was told I was 2mm away from severing my spinal chord. Dr. Melamed took me right in and we did the surgery pretty soon after we met and he looked at my MRI. Needless to say the surgery went awesome. I have recovered very quickly following his instructions. I am so grateful for what he's done. He's a true artist, professional and he fucking nailed it. I am pain-free and on the road to recovery. I would refer anyone to him when it comes to the Spine.
John T.
11/30/17
While surgery is never a fun experience, the staff and physicians were amazing in all aspects of my visit. I can not praise them highly enough.
Robert S.
11/29/17
From the moment I walked into Dr. Melamed's office, I felt sheer comfort and very welcomed. His assistant, Holly was the first person to take time and visit with me, and gave me an idea what I can expect. She was very patient, and not at all hurried. Then, a few minutes later, Dr. Melamed came in, and it was like a light that flowed into the room. I knew right away, he was the surgeon I was going to chose. After spending almost an hour with me, there was no doubt that I would entrust him in doing surgery on my back. I felt like I was in a medical class room, as he explained everything in detail to me. We sat in front of his computer, and viewed all of my x rays, MRI, etc. and pointed out what was not normal, but also what he would do to help my condition. I requested minimally invasive surgery, and that is exactly what he was able to do. I could tell he thoroughly studied all of the views, and had a plan. He was one of the only surgeons who said he could perform minimally invasive surgery, where everyone else said they preferred to not do that. They required that I have my entire back "redone". Needless to say, I am now 100% pain free, and only one month later, I can walk with vigor and pleasure. Haven't been able to do that for a year. It will take awhile before I can ride my horse and dance again, but it is worth the wait, knowing that I will be living my life pain free and with unbridled joy. Dr. Melamed is a stand out in his field, and would recommend him to anyone who is seeking to regain their life back again. He is also very warm and sincere, and will give you all of the time you need. I have to further say, HE "ROCKS."
Dorothy Nicki L.
11/04/17
To say that Dr. Hooman Melamed is the most compassionate, caring and talented surgeon in the United States would be an understatement. Through my many years of suffering, excruciating pain, and surgeries, I can assure you, I've met many doctors, but none quite like Dr. M. He was put on this Earth for a specific reason, and that is to help people like me achieve a life of quality. He is truly gifted. He took on my case when other doctors were too intimidated by the challenge, and turned me away. I am forever grateful to this man, and today, I am living a life of absolutely NO PAIN.
Collin L.
09/16/17
Dr. Melamed and his staff have been professional and courteous each time I've been in his office. I had seen several back doctors prior to Dr. Melamed without any solution to my back issues. I have improved dramatically under Dr. Melamed's care.
John C.
08/27/17
I had severe back problems and pain for many years and one failed back surgery. I heard about Dr. Melamed while trying to find a new surgeon to perform a second surgery. I was impressed with his caring manner and the outcome of the surgeries he had performed. Living far from California, I was concerned about flying a considerable distance and recuperating so far from home. Dr. Melamed made sure that I was able to get all of the imaging needed near home. He spent a lot of time reviewing those images and making a plan for my surgery. When I finally met him, Holly, and Julie in person, I felt like I knew them. I knew I was in good hands. Dr. Melamed is a stickler for certain things one must do to prepare for the surgery and post-op to ensure a successful outcome for each patient. Every step is carefully planned. In working with the team at his office and in getting a glimpse at how the surgery team was put together, I was reassured that he and his team, who work extremely well together, both at the office and in the operating room, would do everything to make sure the surgery was successful. And it was. Better than I imagined. Post-surgery, Dr. Melamed and his team followed up with me frequently to make sure I was doing well. My family and I know that God is with him. He is truly a gifted surgeon. I am now almost two years post-op and couldn't be better. God gave me my life back and Dr. Melamed did everything possible to make sure my back works the way it should. Now I can do things I couldn't do for years. The pain is gone.
I B.
08/20/17
I feel compelled to write this review about Dr. Hooman Melamed, an amazing and caring surgeon, who performed one of his most complicated and risky surgeries on me. I was wounded in Viet Nam when a grenade exploded and thrust me backward to the ground on my upper back and neck. When I met Dr. Melamed I had been through several vertebral fusions in my neck to help relieve excruciating pain from ruptured discs. Unfortunately, the doctors prior to Dr. Melamed fused my neck in a bent position allowing me to only look down, which caused not only neck pain but pain in my shoulders as well. Dr. Melamed assessed the situation with x-rays and scans and told me that he thought he could help me by breaking the previous fusions and stabilizing my neck in the correct positions. This was a risky surgery, but I trusted Dr. Melamed literally with my life! The surgery took 13 ½ hours! When Dr. Melamed went to the waiting room to share what he felt was a successful surgery, he let my family know that even though he felt that it was a success, the reality was that there would likely be paralysis somewhere. His caring was evident when he hung around the hospital for quite some time to assess me for any paralysis after the surgery. He couldn’t believe that I came through such a risky surgery with no paralysis! I am lucky I found Dr. Melamed! His skill and attention to detail have allowed me to stand up straight ever since. I would highly recommend Dr. Melamed to anyone requiring neck surgery. You will find, as I did, he is the BEST! Marty Gushwa
Marty G.
08/12/17
Ask us

Feel free to email us regarding any scheduling or general questions!

Follow Us
Hours

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS
13160 Mindanao Way
Ste 300
Marina Del Rey, CA 90292