Testimonials and Reviews

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS -  - Orthopedic Spine Surgeon

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS

Orthopedic Spine Surgeon & Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine Specialist located in Marina Del Rey, CA

18 total reviews

Dr. Hooman Melamed always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 18 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Hooman Melamed below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

If you are living with pain and discomfort and feel as if you have no way out - I can honestly say, Dr. Melamed is your answer. After many years of suffering with back pain, neck pain and eventually numbness in my right arm, I started to experience weakness in my arm as well. I Immediately went to see Dr. Melamed. After discussing my situation, reviewing my X-Rays and MRI results, he was able to pin point what might be causing the weakness. He requested a CT Scan on the spot, and was able to diagnose me make me feel at ease with next steps. He recommended I have microdiscectomy and microdecompression surgery ASAP. The fact that I was able to get Xrays, my MRI and CT Scan at the same location made it that much easier and stress free. I was diagnosed the same day - and was having surgery 2 days later - again, at the same location! PLUS PLUS PLUS!! After under 6 weeks, I am PAIN FREE, and have almost 100% of my strength back in my arm. After feeling so helpless and fearing the worst, I am now elated at my results and look forward to getting back to my active lifestyle, and doing things with my daughter and husband that I was not able to do prior to the surgery. Dr. Melamed is our angel, and I am eternally grateful for all he and everyone at DISC Sports & Spine Center have done for me and my family.
03/26/17
Dr. Melamed is by far the best in his field what a great man I can finally walk without pain he really cares about his patients and explains the procedures in detail I always felt that I was in good hands thank you Dr. Melamed and you too Holly!!!!!!!
03/20/17
My experience has been miraculous. Going from suffering pain, lack of balance, inability to stand for more than 10 minutes, not be able to play any sport. Never knowing each day how my back will feel. Having gone through two previous surgeries and living like this for more than twenty-five years. Here I am, six weeks after Dr Melamed had done my surgery feeling wonderful. His whole staff has been great, especially Holly Spears. Also my recovery has been easy, after ten hours of surgery, I was off of pain medication in two days except for Tylenol. I went home six days after the surgery. By the way, I am eighty years old.
02/23/17
This was the first experience that I have ever had with a major surgery or issue. Dr Melamed and his staff were amazing and took great care in my overall treatment. I work in public service and can appreciate the thoroughness and exacting care that Dr. Melamed and his staff provided me. I have referred a number of friends and co-workers to his office due not only to the standard of care that he provides; but his level of expertise. Thanks again, Brent Crafton
02/21/17
everyone was very knowledgeable, fast with the info, service was excellent, excellent recovery time,
02/16/17
My experience with Dr. Melamed has been GREAT !!! Despite my original fears and concerns about needing back surgery, Dr. Melamed was very patient with me answering my many questions as often as i asked them, he explained my procedure as many times as i needed. Dr. Melamed helped me understand every aspect of my surgery Until it was clear to me. Dr. Melamed calmed my fears, He earned my TRUST !!! to make one of the most important decisions of my Life !! During and after my surgery Dr. Melamed and his staff have always been there for Me !! Making my Experience and My back surgery A SUCCESS !!!
02/13/17
I had a spinal fusion 8 years ago of L-3 & 4 and was okay with the results. After lifting a heavy object, my back went out again. I tried PT and pain management with no relief. For the past 6 years I've been in agonizing pain -- unable to walk my dog, stand in line or do dishes without pain and hunching over. While watching The Doctors, TV show, I was amazed at the results of a surgery Dr. Melamed had performed on a women in far worse shape than me. Six months later, I called and made an appointment. I'm 6 weeks out of surgery and can stand tall and walk without any pain! I can only praise Dr. Melamed, his staff and the staff at Marina del Rey Hospital. What wonderful, kind and professional people!
02/13/17
Dr. Melamed and his staff literally SAVED my life! The pain that stemmed from my Cervical Spine was so severe due to damaged and deteriorated discs that it caused a constant burning sensation down the right side of my neck, shoulder, arm and into my hand. I was unable take care of my daily needs and I could not sleep. Now, six weeks post surgery, I feel like a new person and words cannot begin to express my appreciation for the surgical talents of Dr. Melamed and care from his entire medical team.
02/09/17
My experience with DISC and Dr. Melamed changed my life. I have never had doctors and nurses listen to me and take my comfort and concerns into account in this way. I felt as though every ounce of my motivation to be better was matched with enthusiasm to help improve my quality of life. I would encourage every individual in search of a caring surgery and consultation environment and drastic results to reach out to Dr. Melamed.
02/07/17
you can put this quote without using my name (for legal reasons which he understands....) It took me a while.... Please forgive me. "Dr. Melamed saved my life. He is the most brilliant surgeon!!!"
02/03/17
It took me a while.... Please forgive me. if you could post it with Marcia R. so my lawyers don't kill me. If you can't I'll risk it, because I was very badly the radiology department only twenty or so days after the surgery. But the truth is the truth. "Dr. Melamed saved my life. He is the most brilliant surgeon!!!"
02/03/17
It was an absolutely fantastic experience from terrible pain to almost no pain from the surgery, Dec. 20, 2016 to today Feb. 2, 2017. I would definitely recommend him to anyone with back pain. If this helps, Dr. Melamed did radiculopathy surgery on me. I believe that if I ever have any more back or bone problems I would definitely come to DISC Sports and Spine Center. My son, his working partner, my nephew, and two more of my sons friends have had surgery here.
02/02/17
My experience with Dr. Melamed was fantastic not only was I treated like family but the pain that I had in my back is completely gone. Dr. Melamed and his staff are true professionals at what they do and make you feel right at home with no question unanswered. I'm very glad I decided to have my operation with Dr. Melamed it has changed my life forever. I highly recommend any looking to get surgery done do some research on Dr. Melamed you will be very impressed.
01/30/17
Dr. Melamed saved my life! He and his team are miracle workers! I met Dr. Melamed in the ER of the Marina del Rey hospital in the worst pain of my life. Dr. Melamed took action right away and had me come in for an MRI and found I had a very large ruptured disc in my lower back. He and his staff worked with my doctors to get me into emergency surgery. All the staff and doctors were EXCELLENT and I was given top notch care. I am now walking, laughing, and pain-free 6 weeks later. I highly recommend Dr. Melamed at D.I.S.C.
01/26/17
Dr Melamed is amazing. I had a previous cervical spine surgery by another Doctor and it was a disaster. Dr Melamed took me on as a patient and did a second surgery and fixed all my issues. After 1 year I am completely healed and pain free. I had been suffering for over a year. Thanks To Dr Melamed and his staff I am very grateful and happy to finally be pain free.
01/24/17
I can't speak highly enough of Dr Melamed. After being to several other spine surgeons, I can say he genuinely cares about his patients. He took the time to explain every aspect of my condition in terms I would understand, offered a minimally invasive alternative, explained the risks of not having the procedure vs having it. I can't thank him enough for taking the time to go through every aspect of my condition as well as the options. I came in with a lot of fear and uncertainty, and he was able to assuage my concerns. I can't speak highly enough of him and his team.
01/24/17
My experience with Dr. Melamed and the Sports and Spin Center has been amazing. Dr. Melamed and his staff are extremely hospitable and professional. After finding out that Disc replacement surgery was my best option i was a little worried about the outcome. Dr. Melamed noticed my concerns and made sure that i was well informed of any complications that may come up. I can safely say that now 6 weeks out of surgery i feel great and haven't had any negative effects from the surgery. I would 100% recommend Dr. Melamed to anyone that his having spinal issues.
01/24/17
Dr. Melamed is always great and explains everything fully.m
01/24/17
Ask us

Feel free to email us regarding any scheduling or general questions!

Name
Email Address
Comments
Follow Us
Hours

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS
13160 Mindanao Way
Ste 300
Marina Del Rey, CA 90292