Testimonials and Reviews

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS -  - Orthopedic Spine Surgeon

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS

Orthopedic Spine Surgeon & Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine Specialist located in Marina Del Rey, CA

47 total reviews

Dr. Hooman Melamed always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 47 reviews with an average rating of 4.98 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Hooman Melamed below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Dr. Melamed changed my life. He brought me back to the things that I could not do for many years prior to my surgery. I can now sleep, dress myself, walk, stand for long periods of time, work at a busy hospital, work out at the gym, engage in daily activities and go for long road trips. I no longer need to have endless steroid and many other injections, RFA's and countless visits to doctors offices. I am 5 months post and about 85% of my pain is gone! I know that I will continue to heal and the world is mine again! Dr. Melamed not only gave me my back, back, but my life back! I appreciated his conservative approach. I met with many surgeons but after my consultation with Dr. Melamed, he explained why and where my pain was coming from and how he could help me. I had full trust and confidence that he could help my declining spine. Thank you to Dr. Melamed and his entire professional caring staff! I wish I would have found you years ago!
Anna T.
05/21/18
I went through some serious pain for 4 months until I saw Dr Melamed. He instantly knew what was wrong after seeing my mri scan and one visit. He told me what needed to be done. I was scared when he said surgery but he reassured me it would be a small one and I wont even be on any serious pain killers afterwards. It has been one month today since my surgery and it is the best thing I did. The recovery was one week before I was walking normally with no pain at all. I had a disc fragment removed after it was putting pressure on my nerve. The recovery was also painless and the stitches are neat and just 1 inch! Thank you Dr. Melamed for helping me. I didn't think I'd be pain free after 4 months of pain!
Fatma A.
05/08/18
Dr. Melamed is amazing. I had dealt with severe sciatica in my left leg for 10 years. When I first met him, he suggested we get me in physical therapy and some epidural steroid injections to ease the pain. I was very happy me he wasn't going directly to surgery as the fix. I wanted to avoid surgery at all cost. It wasn't until I was rear ended a couple months into treatment, the MRI showed my disc protruding further out leaving only one option. Surgery was inevitable, if I ever wanted to live a pain free life. He educated me on what a Microdiscectomy was and offer me a non narcotic pain treatment for after which I was very happy about. I have to admit I was very nervous but willing. It has only been one month since my surgery and I feel amazing. I'm excited to get back into being physically active and enjoying life with my family. Thank you Dr. Melamed.
Arturo L.
05/07/18
If you're reading this because you're considering surgery with Dr. Melamed (or just need to see if you don't need surgery), i hope my post can clarify some ease for you. Dr. Melamed is seriously an AMAZING surgeon. I have to admit, i was pretty scared up until my surgery. Just to clarify - I'm actually quite the pessimist, so even reading all these great reviews didn't help put me at ease. I'll start with a little back story (no pun intended) - I was a pretty healthy person up until a worsening spine condition made my life bad enough to the point where it was starting to interfere with daily life/social activities. In the worst moments, i couldn't sleep at night from nerve pains/sensations. After a few months of traditional Physical Therapy treatment, while it certainly helped, it still wasn't fully working out (again, no pun intended) to getting me back to the previous life i had. At this point I was scared shitless, so I figured i'd at least speak with some surgeons. From having spoken with multiple surgeons, I can tell you that LA tends to have pretty solid surgeons. Even amongst some of the best surgeons here (some even treat pro athletes and other celebs), I found Dr. Melamed to be just flat out better in his approaches. At the first few encounters, I found Dr. Melamed to be a little more intense than some of the other surgeons. But then i realized - actually... that's EXACTLY what I want in my spine surgeon (and what you should look for too). He's incredibly knowledgeable, and also has the patience to explain everything in great detail. Now thinking back on it, and having watched a video recording of the operation, I realize that it's much better that you pick a surgeon who is extremely patient and meticulous (and Dr. Melamed was the best at both, of all the surgeons whom i spoke with). The reason why you shouldn't pick any other surgeon is because you would probably get an inferior surgery/recovery experience. With even some of the other great surgeons in LA, I never got the vibe that they'd be as meticulous during the surgery. I'd imagine that missing even a single small fragment in the spine may have complications after surgery. After spoking with Dr. Melamed, I felt I could trust him to not miss a single important detail. I'm not so sure i could place the same level of trust with other spine surgeons. Needless to say, the surgery was a success and it already feels like i'm well on my way to getting back my previous life style. That said, this whole experience has been life changing, so my other advice to you reading this post is that ... DON'T OVER DO IT. It's not worth it suddenly running a marathon at the expense of your spine. In case you're still worried about seeing Dr. Melamed, did I mention he's been on TV? I believe he also has done spine surgery for other spine surgeons, which is always a great indicator. Also, his statistics are pretty good - the vast majority of his patients do overwhelmingly well. You'll also notice that for his age, Dr. Melamed is the best. This was an important factor for me - while I could spend a lot more time searching for an older surgeon that has done 40 years of spine surgery, they might not be practicing if I need help with my spine later in life!!! Plus, he keeps up with newer and better techniques in the industry, which gives superior results to the surgery/recovery. This really sets him apart from the other older textbook surgeons (nothing wrong with textbook cases, just that they sometimes don't translate 100% in practice). One other note - I was seeing Dr. Melamed at the DISC spine center. The entire center is really great for my spinal recovery. He works with a whole team of chiropractor and physical therapist, so they will get to know you personally (which is great, because they will know how best to treat you as a team, as opposed to random conflicting opinions from individual providers). All in all, I'm extremely thankful for Dr. Melamed - I'm no longer in pain, and very much look forwards to getting stronger and stronger every week.
David T.
04/30/18
Dr. Melamed is an exceptional surgeon! He truly cares about his patients and guides them honestly. He saved my mother’s life and we are forever grateful! Thank you!
Julie D.
04/24/18
dr. melamed is an expert in his field. flying 5 years later from lumbar l1-l5 with rods adjusted scoliosis. he is amazing and a godsend for my career as a flight attendant. thank you doctor melamed, sincerely suze groth ual f/a
Suze G.
04/18/18
When I found I had to undergo cervical surgery I did a lot of research which led me to Dr. Melamed. He did a great job and the results and recovery time were much better than I expected, even though I am 66 years old and was experiencing loss of balance and nerve damage. The pain and balance loss are gone and the nerve damage is improving with physical therapy, thanks to Dr. Melamed.
Hobart C.
04/04/18
I had been experiencing pain for almost a year. It started in my back and a few weeks later began moving down my right leg. Before long it radiated all the way to my foot. I went to my doctor a few months in and was told it was sciatica and should resolve itself. I had an x-ray and it showed nothing. After trying physical therapy, yoga restoration therapy (targeted specifically for the back and sciatica) I was still in so much pain it was hard to walk and get in and out of my car. I went back to the doctor and he ordered an MRI and gave me 2 injections. One a steroid and the other for pain. (helped for about 24 hours) The MRI results revealed that I had a large posterior disc protrusion measuring at 8mm at my L5-S1. After being sent for an epidural and more therapy, the pain was still getting worse. Everyone wanted to prescribe narcotic cocktails to help me live with this pain. Unfortunately, they make me Non-functional, and I am not able to take these medications and work full time so that was a dead end. Finally, I was sent to a pain doctor who told me I could try the epidural again or a nerve block. Again, a temporary solution. Then she told me I may want to consider surgery and told me about Dr. Melamed. I called to make an appointment but he was out of the country so it was a little while before I could get in. I only point this out because I saw 2 other surgeons in the meantime. Neither of which gave me the answers I was looking for. More shots, pain meds, epidurals, fusing my back, months and months of recovery. When I met with Dr. Melamed, what he told me sounded to good to be true, but he spent so much time with us explaining everything and making sure I understood. The comfort level my husband and I felt had us scheduling my surgery at the end of the appointment. I had a Right lumbar 5-sacral 1 microdiscectomy with iliac crest bone marrow aspirate and intradiscal stem cell injection. Here I am today, almost 2 weeks post-op with NO pain. I had my surgery at Marina Del Rey Hospital and what an incredible experience. Everyone, Nurses, Doctors and the Entire Staff were So professional, accommodating and genuinely kind. I do not have one negative thing to say, only Praise. One thing that was really amazing was that everyone that saw me while I was being prepared for surgery asked who was doing my procedure. When I told them it was Dr. Melamed, everyone of them said, "He is Brilliant!" Even my Anesthesiologist told me that Dr. Melamed had done surgery on him. Needless to say, this put me at tremendous ease. As I mentioned, I am almost 2 weeks post-op and have had No Pain in my back or leg since I woke up after surgery. Dr. Melamed let me know, before surgery, that he has started a method with narcotic/opiate free post-op meds. I would like to add myself to the success of this method. Though my surgery was minor compared to his more complicated cases, it is not without some post-op pain. I am thrilled to say that there has Never been a point in my recovery that my pain has not been under control. I am grateful to have been fortunate enough to be a part of this "new approach". I would like to thank everyone associated with The Sports and Spine Center (D.I.S.C.) and Marina Del Rey Hospital for taking an unfortunate and painful situation and turning it into an Incredible Experience.
Elizabeth R.
03/26/18
Dr. Melamed saved my life as well. After reviewing my X-rays and MRI, I had 100% confidence in his recommendations. My spinal cord became compressed and I was walking with an abnormal gait. It felt like I was slowly becoming crippled. Dr. Melamed and his outstanding team performed a 9 hour cervical spine procedure and two weeks later a 6 hour lumbar procedure. Recovery can be hard as was mine. Immediately after surgery I was walking with a normal gait. I’m back to weight lifting and hiking again. I went from spiraling in depression to feeling great. Also, thank you to all the medical professionals at Marina Del Rey Hospital and D.I.S.C.
Nader S.
03/24/18
I have suffered with chronic back pain for over 15 years. I have endured more epidural injections than anyone should, physical therapy, hospital visits and way more pain medications than is deemed safe. I had only managed to mask the pain and eventually I couldn’t even do that any more. Through it all I had to maintain a highly physical business. Living with pain was so depressing, debilitating, and at times, hopeless to the point that I felt I didn’t want to live at all. Meeting Dr. Melamed was a life-changing event for me, a miracle. He made me feel calm and that he understood my pain and most importantly, I believed that I could trust him to take care of my spine and my life. I also believed that for the first time in years I would be out of pain after the procedure and recovery. Dr. Melamed and his attentive staff spent countless hours going through every detail of the surgery, post-surgery and rehabilitation with me in-person, via email and on the phone. They answered every question I had no matter how small and they handled all the insurance details too. I worked with them on all the details so that nothing was left to chance. Everything worked out with exceptional planned precision. I was in for a huge surgery which would take over 8 hours. There was going to be a big recovery time and every part of the plan needed to be in place from the beginning. The surgery was on May 17, 2017 and was a complete success! The procedure went exactly as planned. All the doctors, nurses and staff at The Marina Del Rey Hospital were exceptional, professional and kind. My stay in re-hab at The California Re-Habilitation Institute was practical, informative and top-notch in instruction and care. Dr. Hooman Melamed is a brilliant, kind and caring surgeon. He has really given my life back to me and I couldn’t be more grateful. After four months of recovery I resumed working again and have taken up Pilates in order to stay strong and flexible. My surgery was 9 months ago and It is astounding that I do not have any back pain as long as I am maintaining my stretching and strength training. I cannot say enough about Dr. Melamed, my fabulous doctor! Truly for me he has been a life-saver and life-changer. He has cared about my total health and well-being, not just the financial gain. I am and always will be eternally grateful to him. I would recommend him to anyone seeking treatment for spine issues and I will not hesitate to call on him again if I should ever need additional consultation or surgery. For those of you that want to know what my surgery actually was, here it is in medical terms: The surgery was done in 3 parts: Part 1: Anterior Lumbars Interbody Fusion on L4-L5 with Instrumentation and Allo/Autograft & Bone Morphogenetic Protein Part 2: Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion using Lateral Approach on L3-L4 with Instrumentation & Allo/Autograft & Bone Morphogenetic Protein Part 3: Posterior Spinal Fusion on L3-L4, L4-L5 with Instramentation & L3-L4, L4-L5 Posterior Microdecompression
Ali I.
02/21/18
I cannot find words to describe this precious surgeon and staff and the surgery that I experienced in my life. He is the best and I recommended him and will continue to recommend his honesty and surgery on by spine. I am free of pain and look like a new born and enjoying my life steps . 4 months after the surgery I am unlimited member of Pilates and can move easily , no pain, and enjoying my rest of life with this fabulous surgeon hands and recommendations foe healthy life style.
Melineh K.
02/17/18
I had severe back problem after even second surgery in minnesota. Back was really bad and painful that I did not had life for 23+ years. I had seen many many doctors in minnesota including Mayo Clinic in Rochester. But no doctors wanted to touch my back. When I saw Dr. Melamed on The Doctors show , I wrote him a letter , and he decided to help me. Order many test etc. on 2-08-16 I had my spine surgery by Dr Melamed in L.A. Dr Melamed took a Hugh big challenge. Dr Melamed and his staff are very very kind and helpful . Also they made sure that I am ok since I was from other state. My stay in L.A. Was unbeliable. I took my first trip last week to Vegas and I did not have any pain in my back. That is a Hugh for me. Dr Melamed is spine surgeon of the universe. I wish I would have seen him 20-25 years ago. I would have been able to work. Dr Melamed had changed my life for good . What else 71 year old women wants. I am happy
Daksha P.
02/09/18
I can’t say enough good things about Dr Melamed I have multiple friends who have been operated on by Dr Melamed and they have all been very happy with the outcome but the real mark of what an incredibly patient centric approach Dr Melamed takes is the fact that even though I was very willing to have an extensive surgery with him he advised I work extensively with a physio instead and now I am doing immeasurably better. Patient, kind and professional... and a genuinely nice guy to boot!
Henry M.
12/29/17
Dr. Melamed is very professional, kind and a terrific doctor! He truly cares about helping me with my pain. Dr Melamed has helped me overcome my neck and back problems. I trust him fully! The staff is very kind and professional as well. Thank you Dr Melamed for all your help!
Gila A.
12/28/17
I had back pain for a year and 8 months. I was feeling miserable, physical therapy made me better but my back pain came back again and again and apparently I had gotten worse. I couldn’t even sleep during night. I tried chiropractors, physical therapy and even spinal decompression. I was in tremendous amounts of pain, could barely walk and was waking up every few hours throughout the night, not knowing what to do. After meeting with Dr. Melamed, he took his time to go over my x-rays and explained everything in great detail and patiently to me and my family. I decided to do surgery, even though I was scared from horror stories I had been told. I cannot express how happy I am with my result from my surgery. My back pain is nearly gone. I am about to begin my physical therapy to help me in my final step of recovery. I cannot thank him and his staff enough for everything. Dr. Melamed is the angle who saved my life. I just wish I had met him sooner. I cannot believe he even took time to personally check up on me multiple times though out my recovery. Thank you for giving me my life back after everything that I have been through!
Mona Y.
12/22/17
Dr Melamed’s services are top notch. He is an expert in his field using minimally invasive techniques for optimal results and expedient recovery. He is a compassionate and dedicated doctor. I highly recommend Dr. Melamed for any spinal surgery.
Wendy D.
12/19/17
Dr Melamed is a fantastic Surgen my back is pretty bad from arthritis and he has changed my life in so many ways he really cares for his patients THANK YOU DR MELAMED!!!!!!
Dan N.
12/10/17
4 reviews 5.0 star rating 11/30/2017 I can't thank Dr. Melamed enough. There was a moment about two months ago from now where I was told I was 2mm away from severing my spinal chord. Dr. Melamed took me right in and we did the surgery pretty soon after we met and he looked at my MRI. Needless to say the surgery went awesome. I have recovered very quickly following his instructions. I am so grateful for what he's done. He's a true artist, professional and he fucking nailed it. I am pain-free and on the road to recovery. I would refer anyone to him when it comes to the Spine.
John T.
11/30/17
While surgery is never a fun experience, the staff and physicians were amazing in all aspects of my visit. I can not praise them highly enough.
Robert S.
11/29/17
From the moment I walked into Dr. Melamed's office, I felt sheer comfort and very welcomed. His assistant, Holly was the first person to take time and visit with me, and gave me an idea what I can expect. She was very patient, and not at all hurried. Then, a few minutes later, Dr. Melamed came in, and it was like a light that flowed into the room. I knew right away, he was the surgeon I was going to chose. After spending almost an hour with me, there was no doubt that I would entrust him in doing surgery on my back. I felt like I was in a medical class room, as he explained everything in detail to me. We sat in front of his computer, and viewed all of my x rays, MRI, etc. and pointed out what was not normal, but also what he would do to help my condition. I requested minimally invasive surgery, and that is exactly what he was able to do. I could tell he thoroughly studied all of the views, and had a plan. He was one of the only surgeons who said he could perform minimally invasive surgery, where everyone else said they preferred to not do that. They required that I have my entire back "redone". Needless to say, I am now 100% pain free, and only one month later, I can walk with vigor and pleasure. Haven't been able to do that for a year. It will take awhile before I can ride my horse and dance again, but it is worth the wait, knowing that I will be living my life pain free and with unbridled joy. Dr. Melamed is a stand out in his field, and would recommend him to anyone who is seeking to regain their life back again. He is also very warm and sincere, and will give you all of the time you need. I have to further say, HE "ROCKS."
Dorothy Nicki L.
11/04/17
Ask us

Feel free to email us regarding any scheduling or general questions!

Follow Us
Hours

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS
13160 Mindanao Way
Ste 300
Marina Del Rey, CA 90292