Testimonials and Reviews

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS -  - Orthopedic Spine Surgeon

Hooman Melamed, MD, FAAOS

Orthopedic Spine Surgeon & Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine Specialist located in Marina Del Rey, CA

55 total reviews

Dr. Hooman Melamed always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 55 reviews with an average rating of 4.98 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Hooman Melamed below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

I went to Dr Melamed for back and neck pain. He spent over an hour explaining all my issues with both. I went in for neck surgery about 2 months ago not expecting the results I now have. I have feeling in my right arm and my neck doesn’t crunch ever time I turn it. I highly recommend Dr Melamed and his staff!!
Derek T.
11/01/18
Dr Melemed was recommended to us by my sister and brother in law who also received treatment for spinal conditions. They were so pleased they said that we should definitely seek his opinion. I had an L5 slipped disc that was pinching off nerves in my lower back causing extreme pain that shot around hips and down the back of my legs then causing numbness and pain in my calves. No matter what I did stretching, walking, excercse all of the things would relieve my pain temporarily. Sitting or standing would agrivate and increase pain. I was very apprehensive to have a surgery by anyone in my area due to the record number of failed surgeries. My sister’s testimony to the treatment that her and husband had for Dr Melemed was inspiring and promising. I felt this was a open door to opportunity for primarily my husband because of his extreme case of stenosis but also for myself and my condition. We met with Dr Melemed and were very pleased by his personable and sincere care of our treatment. He took time to explain our conditions and then what he will do to correct it. His staff in his office very professional and communicates with you quickly and efficiently. His team during surgery is remarkable of the higher quality. The Disc Surgery Center gave me the most professional and personable care I have ever received anywhere. We are greatful and blessed to have found treatment and care with Dr Melemed.
Yvonne M.
10/18/18
Dr. Hooman Melamed is more than an top tier surgeon, he is a super hero of a doctor. I have nothing but positive things to say about my entire experience under his care. If your looking for elite level treatment and someone to trust, you have found the right guy. My short review is that Dr. Melamed is one of the best (if not the best) out there at what he does, and surrounds himself with faculty at facilities that are great at what they do. I am 29 years old, now 10+ weeks post op, recovering from my lumbar microdiscectomy surgery with stem cell; 4 weeks into my physical therapy. So grateful I had him as my surgeon. My Long Story. I was diagnosed with a large L5-S1 disc herniation back in March 2016. I was an athletic 27 year old plagued with constant discomfort and pain. I couldn't do the things I loved without pain, or at all. Hesitant to jump into surgery and went down the path of rest with physical therapy. Monitoring my progress and learning as much as I could. I became a new patient of Dr. Melamed Feb. 2017, showing him my progress from where I was a year ago. At this point my herniation was significantly smaller and my symptoms continued decreasing; but were still constant. Dr. Melamed thought it best to ramp up my physical therapy, better my lifestyle to promote more healing, and to monitoring progress with periodic check ins since I was improving. I did months of more rigorous PT under specialized care. Improvement was slow but steady. August 2017, everything changed. I felt like I had re-herniated because I was feeling similar extreme pain again like I had initially felt in March 2016. My symptoms were those described as detrimental that could require emergency surgery. So I called his emergency line on a Friday night, he answered and told me to check into the hospital to investigate further and that he would be ready to do emergency surgery if need be. The hospital tests done that night couldn't diagnose the problem. Dr. Melamed came to my hospital room early the following morning, he didn't want to perform surgery without further tests. Instead of assuming my back and jumping me into surgery, he ordered another test, specifically a CAT scan of my lumbar region and lower abdominal. He may have saved my life. Turns out it wasn't my back at all, it was something else completely unrelated. I had a severe Proctology issue, a nasty one, one which required me to get emergency surgery with a Proctologist. Two surgeries actually. I was nearly immobile for 6 months because of my proctology problem, and all of the physical therapy I had done for my back had regressed, and was once again facing more constant discomfort and pain. Once able, I did 3 more months of PT, but again, felt like I had digressed quite far from where I was before the proctology event, constantly fighting for comfort and to alleviate pain was not working anymore. I felt like had plateaued. That and thought about what would happen if another freak emergency happened. So I went back to Dr. Melamed, and he agreed that I was now a surgery candidate for good reason. My successful operation was in July 2018, I was able to walk and sit within an hour or 2 after surgery. I noticed less sciatic symptoms immediately. After 6 weeks of hard recovery (mostly bed rest), I had my follow up appointment with him, and he prescribed PT once again. This time I asked to for his direction in PT, because the times before I chose my facility based on location. I wanted to find a group that would transition me from therapy to supervised performance training. Dr. Melamed referred a place that has been perfect for me. I am now filled with more hope and confidence than ever that I will get back to completely unrestricted activity and be symptom free . I still have a long way to go, but I am feeling less and less symptomatic everyday. Expect an update from me here again in 6 to 12 months time.
Nicholas F.
09/10/18
BECAUSE OF DR. MELAMED'S SCOLIOSIS EXPERTIZE HE WAS ABLE TO FIX LUMBAR L1-L5 AND 2-5 CERVICAL AND I AM NOW PAIN FREE AND ABLE TO CONTINUE BEING A F/A FOR A MAJER AIRLINE FOR OVER 30 YEARS! GO DR. MELAMED
Suze G.
09/07/18
Dr. Melamed is the best doctor I have ever been to. I've had back issues since I was 19 years old (I'm 29 now) and have spent thousands of hours going to over 30 doctors and even did a lumbar surgery that was ineffective. Dr. Melamed correctly diagnosed me and did an AMAZING job during the surgery. He has given me a better life and for that I am forever grateful. Please go see him, you will not be disappointed.
Patrick S.
08/20/18
The following review is about my positive experience with Dr. Melamed. I will detail what it was like to interact with him and his staff pre and post surgery. --Background I was presenting glowing left shoulder pain that would radiate to my elbow and then fingers. After pain subsided, I noticed substantial left tricep weakness and atrophy, along with parathesia and index/middle finger numbness. I noticed the weakness when I had to lean to my right side to complete a push-up. Prior to visiting Dr. Melamed, I sought conservative treatment primarily with physical therapy and physiatry. While my interactions with each of these disciplines was professional, it was not working to improve the tricep weakness. The straw that broke the camel’s back was when the physiatrist said he could not help me, and that my case warrants serious consideration for surgery. Off I went to search for an orthopedic surgeon... --Why Dr. Melamed My top 2 search criteria in finding a surgeon were: (1) bedside manners — one who doesn’t treat a patient like an inanimate part in a manufacturing assembly line; (2) one whose approach to surgery is not aggressive — “To a hammer, everything is a nail.” While I scoured YouTube to learn more about my condition, I stumbled onto Dr. Melamed’s segments on the Doctor’s show. I quickly got a sense of what his personality was like. I also read his Yelp reviews, and the warmth and satisfaction that flooded them made me comfortable. All-in-all, I was convinced this was the right surgeon to visit — and I can attest his bedside manners were great, and he doesn’t approach surgery simply to chalk one up. --Pre Surgery Dr. Melamed’s staff was awesome with letting me know ahead of time that X-rays and CT scans would be necessary for my initial visit. Scheduling was on-time, and the intake process was very thorough. It seemed like Dr. Melamed reviewed my information and history prior to walking into the room. So, upon meeting him, he was ready to assess and educate. With the hands-on assessments, he confirmed and matched my symptoms to the MRIs — a C6-7 disc herniation was pinching the nerve, which was the source causing all the funky issues down my left arm. He recommended C6-7 posterior microdiscectomy, and I was relieved that fusion was not the recommendation. He took the time to explain the process; in fact, it was the same procedure that he performed for Dr. Travis on the Doctors show so you can watch it there. Due to the significant tricep weakness, surgery was urgently recommended, which matched what my physiatrist suggested. Because I was so prepared for the visit — having researched the condition and his practice — I felt very comfortable to go ahead and schedule the surgery during my visit. His staff was excellent in getting me prepared for surgery 3 business days later. --Surgery This was my first surgery ever, and the entire staff made the day go smooth and uneventful. Dr. Melamed said hello before the procedure, and checked on me afterward. The nurses were really attentive and were generously helpful as the anesthesia wore off. I’m not sure what else I can recommend to make that experience any better! --Post Surgery Dr. Melamed called in a few times after I went home post-surgery. One call was routine, but a couple were to return calls when we had questions about medication and recovery. I’ve never had surgery before, but I found it outstanding that a surgeon personally called to check-in. While I’m now 6 weeks post surgery, all the funky issues down the arm are gone. Week 5 was about the turning point for me, where finger numbness disappeared and my arm/tricep started to feel more “connected.” I still have weeks of physical therapy ahead, and only time will tell if strength can return fully. I’m excited about the prospect of strength recovery due to the decompression surgery. --I Wholeheartedly Recommend Dr. Melamed For the reasons outlined above and with this being my first surgery ever, I wholeheartedly recommend Dr. Melamed. Never once did I second guess whether I should have surgery. His demeanor, staff, and record gave me all the peace-of-mind necessary for a successful surgery. Without hesitation, I would recommend him to all my family and friends.
Dale K.
08/05/18
I was seen by who was considered the best orthopedic and neurosurgeons in the greater Los Angeles area from UCLA, Cedar Sinai, USC, UC Irvine, etc. I have suffered for decades with painful spinal issues both lumbar and cervical, being told numerous times that I required surgery. Until, I met Dr. Melamed and his excellent support team did I have the confidence to proceed with surgery. My instincts were correct. On April 4th 2018 Dr. Melamed did surgery on my lumbar spine. From my initial appointment with Dr. Melamed to my surgical experience, pain control methods employed, post surgical care, and follow-up, all were nothing less than excellent. I will be scheduling the surgery for my cervical spine issues with Dr Melamed in 2019. I would not trust any other surgeon than Dr. Melamed!
Rochelle F.
07/31/18
In a time where I was scared Dr. Hooman Melamed and his team guided me into my choice with a professional and empathetic touch. They worked quickly to set up my preop appointment and scheduled surgery with ease. Dr. Melamed even gave me information on my healthy eating plan for after surgery. It is a anti-Inflammatory diet created by a doctor by the name of Dr. Gundry. It was actually something I had researched prior to knowing that I had a herniated disc. Dr. Gundry’s diet is the “Plant Paradox”. I love that Dr. Melamed uses both western and eastern medicine in his practice. Even when it came to my surgery day I was met with the upmost care by all of his team. They had me giggling into surgery, which was so unlikely because I was full of fear. However, his team made me feel so comfortable and ready to tackle the surgery. Postop my relief is insurmountable. I’m so glad to be able to move almost as I was prior to surgery and this is only one and a half months out. Dr. Melamed doesn’t believe in using opiates so all of the pharmaceutical drugs that I was put on I am now clean of. It was really easy for me to stop using them because of what I was prescribed and the style of Dr.Melamed procedures. I feel like a new person of thanks to Dr. Melamed and his staff. Needless to say I highly recommend him.
Laura L.
07/16/18
Dr. Melamed changed my life. He brought me back to the things that I could not do for many years prior to my surgery. I can now sleep, dress myself, walk, stand for long periods of time, work at a busy hospital, work out at the gym, engage in daily activities and go for long road trips. I no longer need to have endless steroid and many other injections, RFA's and countless visits to doctors offices. I am 5 months post and about 85% of my pain is gone! I know that I will continue to heal and the world is mine again! Dr. Melamed not only gave me my back, back, but my life back! I appreciated his conservative approach. I met with many surgeons but after my consultation with Dr. Melamed, he explained why and where my pain was coming from and how he could help me. I had full trust and confidence that he could help my declining spine. Thank you to Dr. Melamed and his entire professional caring staff! I wish I would have found you years ago!
Anna T.
05/21/18
I went through some serious pain for 4 months until I saw Dr Melamed. He instantly knew what was wrong after seeing my mri scan and one visit. He told me what needed to be done. I was scared when he said surgery but he reassured me it would be a small one and I wont even be on any serious pain killers afterwards. It has been one month today since my surgery and it is the best thing I did. The recovery was one week before I was walking normally with no pain at all. I had a disc fragment removed after it was putting pressure on my nerve. The recovery was also painless and the stitches are neat and just 1 inch! Thank you Dr. Melamed for helping me. I didn't think I'd be pain free after 4 months of pain!
Fatma A.
05/08/18
Dr. Melamed is amazing. I had dealt with severe sciatica in my left leg for 10 years. When I first met him, he suggested we get me in physical therapy and some epidural steroid injections to ease the pain. I was very happy me he wasn't going directly to surgery as the fix. I wanted to avoid surgery at all cost. It wasn't until I was rear ended a couple months into treatment, the MRI showed my disc protruding further out leaving only one option. Surgery was inevitable, if I ever wanted to live a pain free life. He educated me on what a Microdiscectomy was and offer me a non narcotic pain treatment for after which I was very happy about. I have to admit I was very nervous but willing. It has only been one month since my surgery and I feel amazing. I'm excited to get back into being physically active and enjoying life with my family. Thank you Dr. Melamed.
Arturo L.
05/07/18
If you're reading this because you're considering surgery with Dr. Melamed (or just need to see if you don't need surgery), i hope my post can clarify some ease for you. Dr. Melamed is seriously an AMAZING surgeon. I have to admit, i was pretty scared up until my surgery. Just to clarify - I'm actually quite the pessimist, so even reading all these great reviews didn't help put me at ease. I'll start with a little back story (no pun intended) - I was a pretty healthy person up until a worsening spine condition made my life bad enough to the point where it was starting to interfere with daily life/social activities. In the worst moments, i couldn't sleep at night from nerve pains/sensations. After a few months of traditional Physical Therapy treatment, while it certainly helped, it still wasn't fully working out (again, no pun intended) to getting me back to the previous life i had. At this point I was scared shitless, so I figured i'd at least speak with some surgeons. From having spoken with multiple surgeons, I can tell you that LA tends to have pretty solid surgeons. Even amongst some of the best surgeons here (some even treat pro athletes and other celebs), I found Dr. Melamed to be just flat out better in his approaches. At the first few encounters, I found Dr. Melamed to be a little more intense than some of the other surgeons. But then i realized - actually... that's EXACTLY what I want in my spine surgeon (and what you should look for too). He's incredibly knowledgeable, and also has the patience to explain everything in great detail. Now thinking back on it, and having watched a video recording of the operation, I realize that it's much better that you pick a surgeon who is extremely patient and meticulous (and Dr. Melamed was the best at both, of all the surgeons whom i spoke with). The reason why you shouldn't pick any other surgeon is because you would probably get an inferior surgery/recovery experience. With even some of the other great surgeons in LA, I never got the vibe that they'd be as meticulous during the surgery. I'd imagine that missing even a single small fragment in the spine may have complications after surgery. After spoking with Dr. Melamed, I felt I could trust him to not miss a single important detail. I'm not so sure i could place the same level of trust with other spine surgeons. Needless to say, the surgery was a success and it already feels like i'm well on my way to getting back my previous life style. That said, this whole experience has been life changing, so my other advice to you reading this post is that ... DON'T OVER DO IT. It's not worth it suddenly running a marathon at the expense of your spine. In case you're still worried about seeing Dr. Melamed, did I mention he's been on TV? I believe he also has done spine surgery for other spine surgeons, which is always a great indicator. Also, his statistics are pretty good - the vast majority of his patients do overwhelmingly well. You'll also notice that for his age, Dr. Melamed is the best. This was an important factor for me - while I could spend a lot more time searching for an older surgeon that has done 40 years of spine surgery, they might not be practicing if I need help with my spine later in life!!! Plus, he keeps up with newer and better techniques in the industry, which gives superior results to the surgery/recovery. This really sets him apart from the other older textbook surgeons (nothing wrong with textbook cases, just that they sometimes don't translate 100% in practice). One other note - I was seeing Dr. Melamed at the DISC spine center. The entire center is really great for my spinal recovery. He works with a whole team of chiropractor and physical therapist, so they will get to know you personally (which is great, because they will know how best to treat you as a team, as opposed to random conflicting opinions from individual providers). All in all, I'm extremely thankful for Dr. Melamed - I'm no longer in pain, and very much look forwards to getting stronger and stronger every week.
David T.
04/30/18
Dr. Melamed is an exceptional surgeon! He truly cares about his patients and guides them honestly. He saved my mother’s life and we are forever grateful! Thank you!
Julie D.
04/24/18
dr. melamed is an expert in his field. flying 5 years later from lumbar l1-l5 with rods adjusted scoliosis. he is amazing and a godsend for my career as a flight attendant. thank you doctor melamed, sincerely suze groth ual f/a
Suze G.
04/18/18
When I found I had to undergo cervical surgery I did a lot of research which led me to Dr. Melamed. He did a great job and the results and recovery time were much better than I expected, even though I am 66 years old and was experiencing loss of balance and nerve damage. The pain and balance loss are gone and the nerve damage is improving with physical therapy, thanks to Dr. Melamed.
Hobart C.
04/04/18
I had been experiencing pain for almost a year. It started in my back and a few weeks later began moving down my right leg. Before long it radiated all the way to my foot. I went to my doctor a few months in and was told it was sciatica and should resolve itself. I had an x-ray and it showed nothing. After trying physical therapy, yoga restoration therapy (targeted specifically for the back and sciatica) I was still in so much pain it was hard to walk and get in and out of my car. I went back to the doctor and he ordered an MRI and gave me 2 injections. One a steroid and the other for pain. (helped for about 24 hours) The MRI results revealed that I had a large posterior disc protrusion measuring at 8mm at my L5-S1. After being sent for an epidural and more therapy, the pain was still getting worse. Everyone wanted to prescribe narcotic cocktails to help me live with this pain. Unfortunately, they make me Non-functional, and I am not able to take these medications and work full time so that was a dead end. Finally, I was sent to a pain doctor who told me I could try the epidural again or a nerve block. Again, a temporary solution. Then she told me I may want to consider surgery and told me about Dr. Melamed. I called to make an appointment but he was out of the country so it was a little while before I could get in. I only point this out because I saw 2 other surgeons in the meantime. Neither of which gave me the answers I was looking for. More shots, pain meds, epidurals, fusing my back, months and months of recovery. When I met with Dr. Melamed, what he told me sounded to good to be true, but he spent so much time with us explaining everything and making sure I understood. The comfort level my husband and I felt had us scheduling my surgery at the end of the appointment. I had a Right lumbar 5-sacral 1 microdiscectomy with iliac crest bone marrow aspirate and intradiscal stem cell injection. Here I am today, almost 2 weeks post-op with NO pain. I had my surgery at Marina Del Rey Hospital and what an incredible experience. Everyone, Nurses, Doctors and the Entire Staff were So professional, accommodating and genuinely kind. I do not have one negative thing to say, only Praise. One thing that was really amazing was that everyone that saw me while I was being prepared for surgery asked who was doing my procedure. When I told them it was Dr. Melamed, everyone of them said, "He is Brilliant!" Even my Anesthesiologist told me that Dr. Melamed had done surgery on him. Needless to say, this put me at tremendous ease. As I mentioned, I am almost 2 weeks post-op and have had No Pain in my back or leg since I woke up after surgery. Dr. Melamed let me know, before surgery, that he has started a method with narcotic/opiate free post-op meds. I would like to add myself to the success of this method. Though my surgery was minor compared to his more complicated cases, it is not without some post-op pain. I am thrilled to say that there has Never been a point in my recovery that my pain has not been under control. I am grateful to have been fortunate enough to be a part of this "new approach". I would like to thank everyone associated with The Sports and Spine Center (D.I.S.C.) and Marina Del Rey Hospital for taking an unfortunate and painful situation and turning it into an Incredible Experience.
Elizabeth R.
03/26/18
Dr. Melamed saved my life as well. After reviewing my X-rays and MRI, I had 100% confidence in his recommendations. My spinal cord became compressed and I was walking with an abnormal gait. It felt like I was slowly becoming crippled. Dr. Melamed and his outstanding team performed a 9 hour cervical spine procedure and two weeks later a 6 hour lumbar procedure. Recovery can be hard as was mine. Immediately after surgery I was walking with a normal gait. I’m back to weight lifting and hiking again. I went from spiraling in depression to feeling great. Also, thank you to all the medical professionals at Marina Del Rey Hospital and D.I.S.C.
Nader S.
03/24/18
I have suffered with chronic back pain for over 15 years. I have endured more epidural injections than anyone should, physical therapy, hospital visits and way more pain medications than is deemed safe. I had only managed to mask the pain and eventually I couldn’t even do that any more. Through it all I had to maintain a highly physical business. Living with pain was so depressing, debilitating, and at times, hopeless to the point that I felt I didn’t want to live at all. Meeting Dr. Melamed was a life-changing event for me, a miracle. He made me feel calm and that he understood my pain and most importantly, I believed that I could trust him to take care of my spine and my life. I also believed that for the first time in years I would be out of pain after the procedure and recovery. Dr. Melamed and his attentive staff spent countless hours going through every detail of the surgery, post-surgery and rehabilitation with me in-person, via email and on the phone. They answered every question I had no matter how small and they handled all the insurance details too. I worked with them on all the details so that nothing was left to chance. Everything worked out with exceptional planned precision. I was in for a huge surgery which would take over 8 hours. There was going to be a big recovery time and every part of the plan needed to be in place from the beginning. The surgery was on May 17, 2017 and was a complete success! The procedure went exactly as planned. All the doctors, nurses and staff at The Marina Del Rey Hospital were exceptional, professional and kind. My stay in re-hab at The California Re-Habilitation Institute was practical, informative and top-notch in instruction and care. Dr. Hooman Melamed is a brilliant, kind and caring surgeon. He has really given my life back to me and I couldn’t be more grateful. After four months of recovery I resumed working again and have taken up Pilates in order to stay strong and flexible. My surgery was 9 months ago and It is astounding that I do not have any back pain as long as I am maintaining my stretching and strength training. I cannot say enough about Dr. Melamed, my fabulous doctor! Truly for me he has been a life-saver and life-changer. He has cared about my total health and well-being, not just the financial gain. I am and always will be eternally grateful to him. I would recommend him to anyone seeking treatment for spine issues and I will not hesitate to call on him again if I should ever need additional consultation or surgery. For those of you that want to know what my surgery actually was, here it is in medical terms: The surgery was done in 3 parts: Part 1: Anterior Lumbars Interbody Fusion on L4-L5 with Instrumentation and Allo/Autograft & Bone Morphogenetic Protein Part 2: Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion using Lateral Approach on L3-L4 with Instrumentation & Allo/Autograft & Bone Morphogenetic Protein Part 3: Posterior Spinal Fusion on L3-L4, L4-L5 with Instramentation & L3-L4, L4-L5 Posterior Microdecompression
Ali I.
02/21/18
I cannot find words to describe this precious surgeon and staff and the surgery that I experienced in my life. He is the best and I recommended him and will continue to recommend his honesty and surgery on by spine. I am free of pain and look like a new born and enjoying my life steps . 4 months after the surgery I am unlimited member of Pilates and can move easily , no pain, and enjoying my rest of life with this fabulous surgeon hands and recommendations foe healthy life style.
Melineh K.
02/17/18
I had severe back problem after even second surgery in minnesota. Back was really bad and painful that I did not had life for 23+ years. I had seen many many doctors in minnesota including Mayo Clinic in Rochester. But no doctors wanted to touch my back. When I saw Dr. Melamed on The Doctors show , I wrote him a letter , and he decided to help me. Order many test etc. on 2-08-16 I had my spine surgery by Dr Melamed in L.A. Dr Melamed took a Hugh big challenge. Dr Melamed and his staff are very very kind and helpful . Also they made sure that I am ok since I was from other state. My stay in L.A. Was unbeliable. I took my first trip last week to Vegas and I did not have any pain in my back. That is a Hugh for me. Dr Melamed is spine surgeon of the universe. I wish I would have seen him 20-25 years ago. I would have been able to work. Dr Melamed had changed my life for good . What else 71 year old women wants. I am happy
Daksha P.
02/09/18
Ask us

Feel free to email us regarding any scheduling or general questions!

Follow Us
Hours