skip to Main Content

Minimally Invasive Treatment Options Designed Around You

To find out if you’re a candidate, fill out the form or call 310-574-0405

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
4.87 / 5
236 Ratings
166 Recommendations

Dr. Melamed greatly appreciates the feedback from his valued patients. Please read below what his patients are saying about their experiences.

If you are a patient and have feedback to share, we encourage you to submit a review through your favorite social media services such as Facebook, Yelp, and Google.

See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Best experience I've had in my adult life at a doctor's practice. Love Dr. Melamed and his staff. They got my life back to normal. Thank you!
Best experience I've had in my adult life at a doctor's practice. Love Dr. Melamed and his staff. They got my life back to normal. Thank you! Show Less
Vincent R. (October 8, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
Dr Melamed is an amazing surgeon! He took his time to read the MRI result and explained the issue patiently and answered all my questions. While so many doctors may recommend unnecessary procedures, Dr Melamad gives you his honest opinion. ... Show More
Dr Melamed is an amazing surgeon! He took his time to read the MRI result and explained the issue patiently and answered all my questions. While so many doctors may recommend unnecessary procedures, Dr Melamad gives you his honest opinion. He is so knowledgeable and caring about your health and well being. I highly recommend Dr Melamed. He is the absolute best! Show Less
Mahtab R. (October 8, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
If you want the most skilled, educated, and passionate surgeon then Dr. Melamed is it. He is dedicated to doing the very best and goes above and beyond to get those results for his patients. I wouldn't want anyone else performing spine surgery ... Show More
If you want the most skilled, educated, and passionate surgeon then Dr. Melamed is it. He is dedicated to doing the very best and goes above and beyond to get those results for his patients. I wouldn't want anyone else performing spine surgery on me ever. Dr. Melamed does not recommend surgery unless it is truly needed. I trust this man and believe him. He really understands the body, pain, and medication, and takes it seriously. He is not in the businesses to just cut or pass out meds. He believes in quality not quantity. He's not trying to see a zillion patients and take them all to the operating room. He strives to do the exact opposite. He responds quicker to my emails than my family! He also takes a mind-body more holistic approach and wants his patients to have success and he knows how to make it happen. It is very personal to him. He is meticulous and a perfectionist with his craft, I feel absolutely blessed to have him as my surgeon. He is a truly caring and wonderful human being. He lives and breathes to find ways to improve overall health and it's fascinating. Strong opiates were attacking my nervous system and he helped me understand how much they were harming me. I had a lumbar fusion oct 2018 and as of sept 2019, I am fused and was able to have my hardware removed. I did both surgeries without the use of strong opiates. I have my life back and owe it to him. I will never be able to thank Dr. Melamed enough for everything he has done for me. Show Less
Dana K. (September 19, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
If you want the most skilled, educated, and passionate surgeon then Dr. Melamed is it. He is dedicated to doing the very best and goes above and beyond to get those results for his patients. I wouldn’t want anyone else performing spine surgery ... Show More
If you want the most skilled, educated, and passionate surgeon then Dr. Melamed is it. He is dedicated to doing the very best and goes above and beyond to get those results for his patients. I wouldn’t want anyone else performing spine surgery on me ever. Dr. Melamed does not recommend surgery unless it is truly needed. I trust this man and believe him. He really understands the body, pain, and medication, and takes it seriously. He is not in the businesses to just cut or pass out meds. He believes in quality not quantity. He’s not trying to see a zillion patients and take them all to the operating room. He strives to do the exact opposite. He responds quicker to my emails than my family! He also takes a mind-body more holistic approach and wants his patients to have success and he knows how to make it happen. It is very personal to him. He is meticulous and a perfectionist with his craft, I feel absolutely blessed to have him as my surgeon. He is a truly caring and wonderful human being. He lives and breathes to find ways to improve overall health and it’s fascinating. Strong opiates were attacking my nervous system and he helped me understand how much they were harming me. I had a lumbar fusion oct 2018 and as of sept 2019, I am fused and was able to have my hardware removed. I did both surgeries without the use of strong opiates. I have my life back and owe it to him. I will never be able to thank Dr. Melamed enough for everything he has done for me. Show Less
Dana L. (September 17, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
I am very appreciative of Dr M, as he and his staff go above and beyond every visit. The last one was so productive and more informative than the last. Thank you all again, Frank too!
I am very appreciative of Dr M, as he and his staff go above and beyond every visit. The last one was so productive and more informative than the last. Thank you all again, Frank too! Show Less
Amy G. (September 16, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
Dr.Melamed is a doctor's doctor. He has performed surgery on two of my uncles and my dad who are all M.D.'s. Since then, they have been given back a higher quality of life, pain free. Dr. Melamed is intelligent, trustworthy, caring, committed ... Show More
Dr.Melamed is a doctor's doctor. He has performed surgery on two of my uncles and my dad who are all M.D.'s. Since then, they have been given back a higher quality of life, pain free.
Dr. Melamed is intelligent, trustworthy, caring, committed to his patients, an outstanding surgeon as well as a phenomenal human being.
He is held in such high regard by my family that when my boyfriend needed to have emergency surgery on two levels of his lower back, Dr. Melamed truly saved his life.
My boyfriend was unable to stand straight for almost five months and was hunched over from lower back pain. Medication as well as several epidurals from other doctors became ineffective. Thank goodness Dr. Melamed was available to take the case and the surgery was completely successful! My boyfriend was standing straight after surgery without pain and has continued towards a healthy journey of working out at the gym again.
Dr. Melamed's cutting edge expertise in microsurgery and his follow up care regarding special diet and exercise has changed all of their lives for the better. I have seen it first hand. It is an honor and a privilege for one to be a patient of Dr. Hooman Melamed. He is an absolute blessing to the field of medicine. Show Less
Vanessa K. (August 21, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr. Hooman Melamed is a very talented surgeon. And one of the best human beings I’ve had the pleasure to meet. I feel proud and blessed to.have him as my Doctor He saved my life and I will be forever grateful.
Dr. Hooman Melamed is a very talented surgeon. And one of the best human beings I’ve had the pleasure to meet. I feel proud and blessed to.have him as my Doctor He saved my life and I will be forever grateful. Show Less
Tina E. (August 21, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
The man is a genius and magician. I'd let him operate on me with a spork if that's all that was available.
The man is a genius and magician. I'd let him operate on me with a spork if that's all that was available. Show Less
T. W. (August 2, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr. Melamed is a wonderful doctor who spends a lot of time with you and discussing and explaining your condition. He cares about you and your life. I recommend him to everyone who needs relief from chronic back pain and spine conditions.
Dr. Melamed is a wonderful doctor who spends a lot of time with you and discussing and explaining your condition. He cares about you and your life. I recommend him to everyone who needs relief from chronic back pain and spine conditions. Show Less
Joseph L. M. (July 30, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Always to the point and cares for you long term.
Always to the point and cares for you long term. Show Less
Gerald L. (July 12, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr. Melamed is extremely conscientious in his practice and methods. He cares about his patients as individuals.
Dr. Melamed is extremely conscientious in his practice and methods. He cares about his patients as individuals. Show Less
Bruce W. (June 21, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
This is the doctor you want if you're going to get back surgery. I did a lot of research to find him, and it paid off. I had the surgery last February and it has changed my life. I could barely walk and now I have no restrictions caused by my back.
This is the doctor you want if you're going to get back surgery. I did a lot of research to find him, and it paid off. I had the surgery last February and it has changed my life. I could barely walk and now I have no restrictions caused by my back. Show Less
Kate A. (June 4, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
He is the best
He is the best Show Less
Pary E. (June 2, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr Melamed is most certainly one of a kind. Incredibly skilled at what he does while maintaining a kind and comforting bedside manner. I can’t recommend him highly enough!
Dr Melamed is most certainly one of a kind. Incredibly skilled at what he does while maintaining a kind and comforting bedside manner. I can’t recommend him highly enough! Show Less
Megan J. (May 31, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
Dr Melamed is the silver lining of my 2019 year. Looking back ten weeks ago I though it was just a pinched nerve and a numb right hand. MRI review by USC Dr and the plan was C4 thru C6 full fusion and 3-4 weeks off. Second opinion by Santa Barbara Dr and ... Show More
Dr Melamed is the silver lining of my 2019 year. Looking back ten weeks ago I though it was just a pinched nerve and a numb right hand. MRI review by USC Dr and the plan was C4 thru C6 full fusion and 3-4 weeks off. Second opinion by Santa Barbara Dr and the plan was for C6 artificial disc replacement 1-2 weeks off. Same case, two different opinions and a friend recommended Dr Melamed. Called Maria at DISC on 5/14/19 and explained I lived 2 hours from office and requested virtual or phone consultation. Dr Melamed called me promptly on 5/15/19 and gave me 20 minutes of very attentive and professional time while reviewing my 4 week old MRI. Dr Melamed cleared his calendar for Friday 5/17/19 and asked me for a stat new MRI, CT and in patient review at 0800am. Arrival on Friday as planned at 0600AM, DISC has very professional and efficient full state of the art imaging center! CT at 610am, complete, MRI at 0620am complete and off for breakfast at wharf 0635am awaiting Dr Melamed at 0800am. Prompt arrival and not waiting told me Dr Melamed respect his patients time and efforts as my 0800am appointment was meet. Dr Melamed put me thru 15 minutes of additional testing that the previous two DR's had not. While knowing my own anatomy and physiology, Dr Melamed was very educational and concerned of my health. Short story, stat C6 microdiscectomy as herniated disc was impinging spinal cord and compressing C6 nerve. The pain was unbearable, pain management would not fix and surgery was a must. Dr Melamed has refined and executed with results over a 1000 of these microdiscectomy's. When Dr Melamed can look at you, tell you he will be within 1.5mm of your spinal cord and safely extract the damaged disc in less than 1.5 hours with an 1 weeks recovery, your in the right hands. Dr Melamed then massaged his next Friday calendar for a stat surgery day. Let me just be short here, fiver star surgical ward, private waiting room for family, my own recovery room, catered lunch for me and family in recovery and top pain management. Dr Melamed was awesome, extracted 3 fragments greater than 3mm x 7mm and my pain was gone after surgery. After surgery, I recovered in Utah an 7 hour drive for 3 days. Today 05-31-19 is post operation day 7, did I say day 7, yes I worked already 4 days this weeks with no pain meds but have used Dr Melamed recommended cold ice compression therapy for now 55 hours since last Friday. Let me tell you, I've only relaxed 3 days over the holiday weekend and it's because of Dr Melamed pre-post diet, minimal invasive surgery techniques, post recovery cold ice compression therapy and fine surgeon who has his patients best interest. So I'm an average walk of life at 50 years of age and Dr Melamed just gave me back 10 years. I'm grateful to have worked with DISC and the best world class staff in the orthopedic business of Southern CA. Respectfully - John Show Less
John S. (May 31, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
Out of all the doctors that I've seen, Dr.Melomed is sincerely concerned about my health. He continues to study in Japan to make better judgement calls. He is conservative type of doctor, he's out to take care of you and not himself. I highly recommend ... Show More
Out of all the doctors that I've seen, Dr.Melomed is sincerely concerned about my health. He continues to study in Japan to make better judgement calls. He is conservative type of doctor, he's out to take care of you and not himself. I highly recommend Dr. Melomed!

Leigh Seaton Show Less
Leigh S. (May 29, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Very detailed. Conservative approach before deciding on any surgery. Great facility and doctors
Very detailed. Conservative approach before deciding on any surgery. Great facility and doctors Show Less
Marc M. (May 16, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
My experience with Dr. Melamed and his staff was nothing short of amazing. Everybody on his staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Dr. Melamed himself is the best. He is very knowledgable, polite, and caring. He truly cares for each of his ... Show More
My experience with Dr. Melamed and his staff was nothing short of amazing. Everybody on his staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Dr. Melamed himself is the best. He is very knowledgable, polite, and caring. He truly cares for each of his patients and will do whatever it takes to help them. I can't recommend him enough to anybody who has back or neck pain. Show Less
Janet S. (May 13, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on Yelp
I understand why he is one of the best doctors in the nation. He is very caring and understanding of his patients. Also, he attempts to improve his skills by traveling all over the world. I never had problem(s) with his explanations and I felt very ... Show More
I understand why he is one of the best doctors in the nation. He is very caring and understanding of his patients. Also, he attempts to improve his skills by traveling all over the world. I never had problem(s) with his explanations and I felt very confortable to ask him any questions. Best MD I've ever met. Show Less
Alyssa L. (May 3, 2019)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I have been a patient of Doctor Melamed for the last few years , he is so knowledgeable and caring . I have done a lower back surgery with him and he tried everything else before doing the surgery . I feel great and and I will highly recommend Doctor ... Show More
I have been a patient of Doctor Melamed for the last few years , he is so knowledgeable and caring . I have done a lower back surgery with him and he tried everything else before doing the surgery . I feel great and and I will highly recommend Doctor Melamed . He is the BEST ! Show Less
joe r. (April 27, 2019)
5 star rating
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Back To Top