skip to Main Content

Minimally Invasive Treatment Options Designed Around You

To find out if you’re a candidate, fill out the form or call 310-574-0405

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

4.86 / 5
337 Ratings
229 Recommendations

Dr. Melamed greatly appreciates the feedback from his valued patients. Please read below what his patients are saying about their experiences.

If you are a patient and have feedback to share, we encourage you to submit a review through your favorite social media services such as Facebook, Yelp, and Google.

See review on GoogleMyBusiness
From the first five minutes with Dr. Melamed I knew I was in great hands. He listened attentively and answered all my questions thoroughly and patiently. If I hadn't already heard he's the best, I would have known it immediately.
From the first five minutes with Dr. Melamed I knew I was in great hands. He listened attentively and answered all my questions thoroughly and patiently. If I hadn't already heard he's the best, I would have known it immediately. Show Less
Erika A. (December 7, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Thoughtful caring and knowledgeable doctor!
Thoughtful caring and knowledgeable doctor! Show Less
Sanaz K. (November 16, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Teleconference, meeting went well and as expected.
Teleconference, meeting went well and as expected. Show Less
Alan T. (November 11, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I LOVE DR.MELAMED. He is a doctor that cares very deeply about his clients. I have always felt carried and supported by his care and I’m endlessly grateful for everything he has done and continues to do to help me thrive physically. Kind, gracious, ... Show More
I LOVE DR.MELAMED. He is a doctor that cares very deeply about his clients. I have always felt carried and supported by his care and I’m endlessly grateful for everything he has done and continues to do to help me thrive physically. Kind, gracious, open. The best!!! Show Less
Aleque R. (October 19, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr Melamed gave me my life back! I was in severe pain for months due to a ruptured disc. Dr Melamed performed a non-invasive surgery and the pain was resolved immediately. Now even 2 months post surgery after being related not having to go into ... Show More
Dr Melamed gave me my life back! I was in severe pain for months due to a ruptured disc. Dr Melamed performed a non-invasive surgery and the pain was resolved immediately.
Now even 2 months post surgery after being related not having to go into the office Dr Melamed still checks in via electronic survey to see how I’m doing.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Dr Melamed, and his office staff is fantastic too Show Less
Charlene L. (October 5, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Very Friendly, clean office, the staff eager to help and care about the patient. Dr. Melamed is one of kind, amazing, caring. gave enough time to explain and listen very carefully to everything I say. Did my Nick surgery 7 years ago, and last ... Show More
Very Friendly, clean office, the staff eager to help and care about the patient.

Dr. Melamed is one of kind, amazing, caring. gave enough time to explain and listen very carefully to everything I say. Did my Nick surgery 7 years ago, and last week did my back surgery, I live 2 and half hour away, but I will not go to any other doctor, he is worth the trip. Everyone should see Dr. Melamed at once in his life time, you will not be sorry. Show Less
Samira S. (October 1, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr. Melamed was clearly interested in me on a personal level, solving my back issues, and getting me back to a normal life style. My take away is that whatever he finds in surgery, he knows how to repair and will repair it. I was delighted when he ... Show More
Dr. Melamed was clearly interested in me on a personal level, solving my back issues, and getting me back to a normal life style. My take away is that whatever he finds in surgery, he knows how to repair and will repair it. I was delighted when he said that I could be driving in 3 days. 🙂 Show Less
Warren K. (September 4, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I have been experiencing extreme back pain often on, more often than not, for the past 15 yrs. I had a botched laminectomy, for a disk on L4-L5, in 2007, at UCLA, by Dr. Shami. With continued extreme pain post surgery, which slowly appeared on both ... Show More
I have been experiencing extreme back pain often on, more often than not, for the past 15 yrs. I had a botched laminectomy, for a disk on L4-L5, in 2007, at UCLA, by Dr. Shami. With continued extreme pain post surgery, which slowly appeared on both sides. However, he kept refusing to do an MRI for 3 months, post-op. That was their policy, he said. Saying that it’s all post surgery pain. So, finally when they did an MRI, after 3 months, it showed that I then had 2 disks, one on each side. I asked to see a Neuro-Surgeon, for second opinion, as to what I should do, at that time. But he would refuse to release me, for months.
Anyway, to make the long story short. Again in 2017 after months of search by my wife, we finally found a Neuro-surgeon that was doing minimally invasive spine surgery, but he went in from my right side, and I really don’t know what if anything he did. And, my pain continued. Although, he took both Medicare and cash.
Finally, we had heard a lot of positive reviews from Dr. Melamed, but because he would only get cash for his part of the service, we were still hesitant. Specially, since at this time both my wife and I have retired.
But the pain and misery got so bad, a repeat Lumbar MRI was done, at UCLA. That seemed very disturbing, and the doctor said, it’s likely from the result of your original Laminectomy, that we decided to see Dr. Melamed.
His office staff are exceptional, very caring and helpful. We could see, he runs a tight ship. If you call after hrs or for some reason you get no response and don’t want to leave a message. Someone will call you the next day to see if you had a question/concern.
We finally met Dr Hooman Melamed. He was extremely careful and efficient, just a bad Lumbar MRI wasn’t good enough for him. He wanted to see the whole spine. He ordered a Cervical and a Thoracic MRIs, and another Lumbar MRI, with contrast. Before he would decide what he needed to do for me.
After all the assessment he said what I have are number of very bad strictures, 6 of them, 2 on each level. That I don’t need knots & bolts, like I had been told by no. of other well known Ortho. or Neuro. surgeons.
I was operated on July 16/21, at Marina Del Rey/Cedars Sinai Hospital, by Dr. Melamed. I believe the operation took about 4-5hrs. The strictures were even worse than anticipated. I was taken care of royally, by all the physicians appointed to me through Dr. Melamed and his referring Internal Medicine doctor, Dr. Navid Hakimian.
After all the pain and suffering that I have gone through over the years, as a College Professor, that had to stand or sit for many hours of the day.
I would like to tell the whole world, that I think Dr. Melamed is a miracle worker. From 2 wks after my surgery, this has been the first time in all these years that I am living pain free!! A world of thanks and deep appreciations to our dear Dr. H. Melamed.
From what we saw while inpatient, at Marina Del Rey Hosp. When he opens up his patients spine, he does not leave the operating room until he finishes what he sees necessary or needed to do. Not like many other Surgeons, that when they see it’s going to take too long, they just close you up, to go to the next patient.
So, if anyone asks me, I would say, it’s true that Dr. Melamed only take cash for his part of the service, and he is not cheap. Likely because he also knows his worth. But when one lives with extreme pain having to regularly take some kind of narcotics, you can’t put a number on the amount that would be worth to live pain free! I have not even needed to take a Tylenol since 2 wks post-op.
Thank you so very much Dr. Melamed!
You are not only an excellent surgeon, but you are a surgeon with a big heart and a wonderful man!
Tahmoures A. Afshar, Ph.D. Show Less
tahmoures a. (August 25, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr Melamed has been my doctor for over 10 yrs. He performed neck and back surgery and I have been psi free. He is very professional and kind spirited when giving his professional advise. He takes the fear out of having surgery. I can honestly say ... Show More
Dr Melamed has been my doctor for over 10 yrs. He performed neck and back surgery and I have been psi free. He is very professional and kind spirited when giving his professional advise. He takes the fear out of having surgery. I can honestly say he want his patients to get wee and will help in every way. Show Less
Dana J. (June 26, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr.Hooman is one of the most professional physician's I have encountered thus far! His staff is EXEMPLARY! They are all so efficient & kind. If you want professional, it's right here at the office of Dr. Hooman Melamed!
Dr.Hooman is one of the most professional physician's I have encountered thus far! His staff is EXEMPLARY! They are all so efficient & kind. If you want professional, it's right here at the office of Dr. Hooman Melamed! Show Less
Lorraine Z. (June 5, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr. Melamed is best of the best. I couldn't be happier with my outcome. I had a l4-5 par defect. Dr. Melamed performed a 1 level fusion. He went in from the front with posterior fixation. This allowed for better disc height and enabled him to maintain ... Show More
Dr. Melamed is best of the best. I couldn't be happier with my outcome. I had a l4-5 par defect. Dr. Melamed performed a 1 level fusion. He went in from the front with posterior fixation. This allowed for better disc height and enabled him to maintain the spine lordosis.

The pain relief was quite apparent only a few days after the surgery. At the 15 day mark, I was able to walk a further distance than before surgery. All pain from nerve compression was eliminated, just some residual incision pain.
I am currently 6 weeks out, and I feel great. Still taking it easy to ensure proper fusion, but I should start physical therapy soon.

I consulted with 4 other doctors prior to Dr. Melamed, but he was clearly the best choice.

I highly recommend Dr. Melamed, and if you book a consultation with him him and his amazing staff, it will be apparent why his practice has such great reviews.

Good luck with your recovery Show Less
Ammar A. (May 27, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I had the privilege of shadowing Dr. Melamed for two years as a UCLA student. He is not only one of the most intelligent people I have ever met but he is also a caretaker like no other. I have told my peers about Dr. Melamed, but I wanted to testify to ... Show More
I had the privilege of shadowing Dr. Melamed for two years as a UCLA student. He is not only one of the most intelligent people I have ever met but he is also a caretaker like no other. I have told my peers about Dr. Melamed, but I wanted to testify to patients online to inform them about the type of care he gives.

Dr. Melamed was the epitome of a stellar physician that everyone desires to have. I witnessed his gentle, caring conversations with patients as well as his professional, outstanding way of conducting his surgeries. He was not only a great human being, but he was also one of the most skilled surgeons I witnessed in my life.

As a first-time observer at a hospital setting, I lacked much information on how to shadow and did not have any background knowledge regarding orthopedics. However, Dr. Melamed was kind, patient, and informative every time I shadowed to educate me about all of the surgeries and procedures he was conducting in a detailed manner. He was always receptive to my questions and he has spurred me to be open to the orthopedic specialty when I enter medical school.

One review can't summarize the outstanding care I witnessed while shadowing Dr. Melamed but I hope that my words can reinforce the fact that if you are in need of a physician, Dr. Melamed is the right healthcare professional you are looking for. Show Less
Elizabeth (May 22, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I was very impressed with his knowledge of my specific condition and his shared thoughts on his plans to correct my issues. I am excited for my upcoming surgery and am looking forward to a better quality of life, and with much less pain!!!!
I was very impressed with his knowledge of my specific condition and his shared thoughts on his plans to correct my issues. I am excited for my upcoming surgery and am looking forward to a better quality of life, and with much less pain!!!! Show Less
Kristy A. (May 19, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr. Melamed is an expert on the field of spinal surgery and it shows in the way he presents himself and the recommendations he provided us with. We went to see him for a second opinion and will be staying in his practice for my husband's care.
Dr. Melamed is an expert on the field of spinal surgery and it shows in the way he presents himself and the recommendations he provided us with. We went to see him for a second opinion and will be staying in his practice for my husband's care. Show Less
soraya a. (May 14, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I have been going to Dr Melamed for a few years now. He performed my second lumbar spine fusion and corrected the fusion from the previous Dr. I have so much confidence in Dr Melamed, that I have referred two friends to him. What I like about Dr Melamed ... Show More
I have been going to Dr Melamed for a few years now. He performed my second lumbar spine fusion and corrected the fusion from the previous Dr. I have so much confidence in Dr Melamed, that I have referred two friends to him. What I like about Dr Melamed is that he is not one to rush into surgery. He will try everything possible before recommending surgery. I am now seeing him for a herniated disc in my neck. Surgery was never discussed but alternative treatments were recommended. Another thing I like about Dr Melamed is I have never had to wait more than 15 minutes after my appointment time to be seen. My previous Surgeon had wait times of up to 2 hours past the appointment time. Very frustrating. Show Less
T. K. (May 4, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I have seen Dr Hooman Melamed two times now. I am contemplating a surgical procedure with Dr Melamed on my neck. (My family was very happy with the successful outcome of my mother's lumbar surgery with Dr Melamed eleven years ago.) His entire ... Show More
I have seen Dr Hooman Melamed two times now. I am contemplating a surgical procedure with Dr Melamed on my neck. (My family was very happy with the successful outcome of my mother's lumbar surgery with Dr Melamed eleven years ago.) His entire operation, including each and every staff member I have dealt with, but mainly with Lauren, and sometimes Nina, have been exceedingly professional, competent and warm. They always go above and beyond normal "expected" standards of care in today's world. I cannot say enough good words about this medical practice. Thank You Dr Melamed and Staff for your Care and Kindness and for "Setting the Medical Bar So High". Show Less
Deidre M. (April 19, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Dr Melamed is just the kind of surgeon I trust, very concerned about every detail, from lab tests, preop, recovery and explained all of the range of expectations. He is dedicated and of the surgeons I met with and interviewed g,ave me the most ... Show More
Dr Melamed is just the kind of surgeon I trust, very concerned about every detail, from lab tests, preop, recovery and explained all of the range of expectations. He is dedicated and of the surgeons I met with and interviewed g,ave me the most confidence in his assurance. He followed up with every minute detail and made sure I saw a specialist necessary for a condition he surveyed while operating. He even gave me some special maximum absorption vitamins for continued health and support. I highly recommend him, and trust that everyone will feel the same way Show Less
Andrea M. (April 6, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Just absolutely mind blowing......phenomenal and i will forever be in debt to the doc and staff....iv had a fusion before and This was A complete game changer
Just absolutely mind blowing......phenomenal and i will forever be in debt to the doc and staff....iv had a fusion before and This was A complete game changer Show Less
kulwant s. (March 20, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
Very professional, to the point and everything at the office
Very professional, to the point and everything at the office Show Less
Kurt L. (March 3, 2021)
5 star rating
See review on GoogleMyBusiness
I am so grateful to have been referred to Dr. Melamed. Dr. Melamed made me feel safe and confident in the decision to have surgery. He carefully explained all options and recommendations, and took the time to answer my questions. He cares about ... Show More
I am so grateful to have been referred to Dr. Melamed.
Dr. Melamed made me feel safe and confident in the decision to have surgery. He carefully explained all options and recommendations, and took the time to answer my questions. He cares about the total well being of his patients, and he is an excellent surgeon! He kept me informed directly by phone or e-mail, checking in with me to see how I was doing, even to wish me a Happy Holiday! His staff is also very efficient, and caring! Thank you so much! Show Less
Theresa (February 13, 2021)
5 star rating
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Back To Top